Invalidity dossier
US 10890542
Fluid sensor comprising a composite cavity member
Current assignee: M Flow Technologies Ltd
Added 9/24/2026, 3:41:38 PM
Active provider: DeepSeek · deepseek-v4-flash
Patent summary
Title, assignee, inventors, filing/issue dates, abstract, and a plain-language overview of the claims.
I'll verify the patent's bibliographic data and look for any litigation/docket activity.
Let me try to pull the granted claim set and confirm whether there is any litigation activity.
US Patent 10,890,542 B2 — Analyst Summary
Bottom line: This is a granted, currently‑active US patent directed to a downhole/subsea multiphase fluid sensor in which the RF cavity that confines the electromagnetic field is made from an electrically‑conductive composite material (e.g., carbon fibre in PEEK) rather than brass, so that the same part provides both EM confinement and structural/pressure integrity.
1. Bibliographic data
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Patent number | US 10,890,542 B2 |
| Title | Fluid sensor comprising a composite cavity member |
| Application no. | US 15/984,411 |
| Filing date | 2018‑05‑20 |
| Date of patent (issue) | 2021‑01‑12 |
| Pre‑grant publication | US 2020/0217806 A1, published 2020‑07‑09 |
| Priority date (as listed) | 2012‑10‑22 (GB 201218953 D0); second priority 2013‑02‑20 (GB 1302969.9 → GB 2511045 A) |
| Inventors | Giles Edward (Abingdon) and Alan Parker (Abingdon) |
| Assignee / current owner | M Flow Technologies Ltd (Abingdon). Google Patents also records a 2020‑10‑23 assignment entry naming the assignee literally as "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD" — per your strict‑literal rule I am reporting that spelling as‑is rather than correcting it; it is very likely a data‑entry variant of the same entity, but I cannot confirm that from the record. |
| Anticipated expiration (listed) | 2033‑10‑22 |
| Legal status (listed) | Active |
| Classifications | G01N 22/04 (moisture content by microwaves); G01F 1/66; G01F 1/74; G01F 15/006; G01N 33/28; G01N 33/2847 (water in oils) |
Source: https://patents.google.com/patent/US10890542/en ; https://patents.justia.com/patent/10890542 ; publication: https://patents.google.com/patent/US20200217806A1/en
Priority note (important for prior art): although the application was filed in 2018, the listed prior‑art/priority date is 2012‑10‑22, i.e., the patent sits on a 2012 GB priority chain. It published first as US 2015/0260662 A1 and US 2015/0300936 A1 (from the earlier GB filing), then re‑entered as the 2018 application.
2. Abstract
Uncertainty flag: the authoritative page text I was given does not contain the verbatim abstract paragraph (the fetch captured the definitions and the long "may…" description but not the abstract block). I therefore will not reproduce an abstract as if it were quoted.
Substantively, the abstract‑level disclosure is: a fluid sensor having a core defining a fluid flow path and a cavity member located externally of the core, the cavity member comprising an electrically‑conductive composite material (matrix + embedded reinforcing elements) and being configured to confine an electromagnetic field, while the core transmits electromagnetic radiation at the field frequency, so that composition and/or flow characteristics of fluid in the flow path can be measured.
3. Technical context (from the specification)
- Intended use: measuring oil/gas/water content and flow rate in a pipe, oil or gas well, or subsea — i.e., a multiphase flow meter operating on RF/microwave resonance.
- Conventional design: PEEK or PVC base pipe with a brass cavity member and an air‑ or water‑filled annular outer cavity, often requiring a thick brass wall and/or a steel external casing for external pressure, erosion and corrosion.
- Stated problem addressed: brass cavity members are heavy/thick, corrosion‑ and erosion‑prone, and hard to fit over the core or integrate into a composite pipeline; a water‑filled annulus still transmits external pressure; air‑filled annuli need high‑pressure sealing.
- Stated solution: make the cavity member from an electrically‑conductive composite (disclosed example: PEEK matrix with carbon‑fibre reinforcement) so it is simultaneously (i) sufficiently reflective/conductive to confine an RF field (specification discusses 1 kHz–1 THz, and 1 MHz–1 GHz ranges) and (ii) a structural/strength member that can withstand subsea/wellbore external pressure, tension, compression and bending.
- Key secondary teaching: because conductivity in such a composite runs predominantly along the fibres, the fibre orientation can be chosen to control which cavity modes are supported — e.g., fibres wound near‑circumferentially (80–90°, 85–90°, or 87–90° to the longitudinal axis) restrict current to circumferential paths, suppressing unwanted modes and reducing resonance overlap, which is said to improve composition/flow‑rate accuracy.
4. Independent claims — plain language
Confirmed independent claim 1 (granted), verbatim in substance (source: Justia claim listing for patent 10890542):
"1. A fluid sensor comprising: a core defining a fluid flow path; and a cavity member located externally of the core and comprising an electrically‑conductive composite material including a matrix and one or more reinforcing elements embedded within the matrix, wherein the cavity member is configured so as to provide confinement for an electromagnetic field and the core is configured so as to permit transmission therethrough of electromagnetic radiation at a frequency of the electromagnetic field, wherein the cavity member comprises a first layer which comprises an electrically‑conductive composite material, wherein the cavity member comprises a second layer which is configured to withstand at least one of a predetermined pressure, a predetermined force, a predetermined axial tension, a predetermined axial compression, and/or a predetermined bending stress, wherein the second layer is located externally of the first layer, wherein the second layer comprises a material which has the same composition as the electrically‑conductive composite material of the first layer and wherein the reinforcing elements of the first layer are formed along a first helical trajectory and the reinforcing elements of the second layer are formed along a second helical trajectory different from the first helical trajectory."
Plain‑language breakdown of the required elements:
- A core — the pipe/conduit that defines the fluid flow path (the fluid actually flows inside it).
- A cavity member outside the core — an outer sleeve surrounding the core.
- It is made of an electrically‑conductive composite: a matrix plus embedded reinforcing elements.
- Functional requirements: the cavity member must confine an electromagnetic field, and the core must let electromagnetic radiation at that frequency pass through it (so the field can reach the fluid).
- Two‑layer construction: a first (inner) layer that is the electrically‑conductive composite, and a second (outer) layer that provides mechanical strength (resisting pressure, force, axial tension, axial compression and/or bending).
- The second layer is outside the first (i.e., the strength layer wraps the conductive layer).
- The second layer's material has the same composition as the first layer's conductive composite (so this is a same‑material, different‑architecture two‑layer stack — not a metal liner plus composite over‑wrap).
- The reinforcing elements of layer 1 lie along a first helical trajectory and those of layer 2 along a second, different helical trajectory (i.e., differing wind/ply angles).
Scope read: claim 1 is narrower than the general inventive concept described in the specification. The two‑layer, same‑composition, differing‑helical‑trajectory limitations mean a single‑layer conductive composite cavity member, a composite‑plus‑metal end fitting, or a two‑layer member with identical ply angles would fall outside claim 1 on its face.
Likely dependent claims 2–14 (flagged as probable, not verified as granted): the pre‑grant publication listed claims 62–75, and granted claim 1 is textually identical to published claim 62, which suggests the granted set is the published claim 62–75 series renumbered 1–14. On that footing the dependents add: RF frequency of the field; insulating matrix with conductive reinforcement; reinforcement at a predetermined angle to the cavity axis; helical angles of 80–90°, 85–90° or 87–90°; PEEK matrix; fibres/strands/filaments/nanotubes/particles/clusters/pieces as reinforcement; carbon reinforcement; first layer as the inner surface; second layer as the outer surface; an electrically conducting portion plus an electrically insulating (transmissive) portion formed from the same matrix material; the cavity member integrally formed with, bonded, fused, welded or joined to the core; and a generally tubular core. I could not verify the granted dependent claim texts or the exact claim count from the sources available, so treat this paragraph as an inference.
Other independents: I found no confirmed second independent claim in the granted set. The specification does recite "a method for use in manufacturing a fluid sensor," so a method claim is plausible, but I have no verified claim text for one and will not assert it exists.
Do not conflate — a caution on identifiers: several PTAB/USPTO documents returned in searching reference a "'542 Patent" and a "cavity"; those papers concern U.S. 7,341,542 (an exercise apparatus) and a different ultrasonic flowmeter patent. They are not US 10,890,542. Per your literal‑interpretation rule, I am flagging rather than merging them. Likewise, US 2015/0260662 A1 and US 2015/0300936 A1 are earlier, separate family publications with their own (broader) claim 1; their claims are not the claims of US 10,890,542.
5. USPTO / CAFC docket check for US 10,890,542
- USPTO: Google Patents shows the file is Active, granted 2021‑01‑12, with an anticipated expiration of 2033‑10‑22, and a recorded 2020‑10‑23 assignment. I did not find any PTAB proceeding (IPR/PGR) petitioning US 10,890,542 in the results retrieved.
- CAFC 2026 dockets: I found no Federal Circuit docket, appeal, or district‑court litigation naming US 10,890,542 in the search results returned.
- Confidence: moderate. My searches were general web searches, not a direct PACER/CAFC‑CM‑ECF or USPTO PatentCenter query, so absence of results is not proof of absence of litigation. If you need a litigation‑grade confirmation, the definitive step is a PACER/CM‑ECF docket search and a PatentCenter "Patent Litigation" / assignment‑history check on 15/984,411 and 10,890,542.
Explicit uncertainties: (i) the verbatim abstract was not in my authoritative source; (ii) the granted dependent claim texts and total claim count are inferred from the pre‑grant publication rather than confirmed; (iii) the "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD" vs. "M Flow Technologies Ltd" naming difference is reported literally and unresolved; (iv) the litigation/docket negative result is search‑limited, not exhaustive.
Generated 9/29/2026, 10:02:35 PM
Cases on file (0)
Specific litigation cases in our database that name US patent 10890542. The free-form analysis below may also discuss cases beyond this list.
No cases on file mention this patent. Upload a CSV or add a case manually in Admin → Manage litigation cases.
Litigation summary
Past and pending lawsuits — plaintiffs, defendants, jurisdictions, outcomes, and notable rulings.
I'll search for litigation involving US patent 10890542 across patent litigation databases.
Let me search more specifically for this patent and its owner across litigation databases.
Litigation Search Results for U.S. Patent No. 10,890,542
Bottom line: I found no litigation involving U.S. Patent No. 10,890,542 in any of the sources searched. I could not identify any district court action, Federal Circuit appeal, ITC investigation, or PTAB (IPR/PGR) proceeding naming this specific patent.
Patent identification (confirmed from the authoritative full text)
Per the patent document supplied, the patent is correctly identified as:
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Patent No. | US 10,890,542 B2 |
| Title | Fluid sensor comprising a composite cavity member |
| Application No. | US 15/984,411 |
| Filing date | 2018-05-20 |
| Grant/publication date | 2021-01-12 |
| Priority date | 2012-10-22 (GB201218953A; also GB1302969.9 / GB2511045A) |
| Inventors | Giles Edward; Alan Parker |
| Original/current assignee | M Flow Technologies Ltd (recorded reassignment to "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD," 2020-10-23) |
| Status | Active; anticipated expiration 2033-10-22 |
Because you instructed me to interpret identifiers literally and not to auto-correct, I note that the assignee appears in the record both as "M Flow Technologies Ltd" and, post-reassignment, as "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD."
What I searched
- General web searches for the patent number combined with "litigation," "lawsuit," and "infringement."
- Searches for the patent owner ("M Flow Technologies") combined with litigation terms.
- Searches referencing the Unified Patents litigation portal (portal.unifiedpatents.com/litigation/caselist), which indexes district court patent cases and is a common tracker for litigation/PTAB activity.
Findings
- No district court cases naming US 10,890,542 were returned.
- No Federal Circuit appeals referencing this patent were returned.
- No PTAB proceedings (IPR, PGR, or CBM) referencing this patent were returned.
- The Unified Patents litigation/PTAB results surfaced only unrelated cases (different patents and parties).
Important caveats (please read)
Search limitation. My searches returned no evidence of litigation, but a negative result is not proof of non-existence. Patent numbering is easily confused, and I was careful to require the exact number "10890542" rather than near-identical numbers (e.g., 10,890,562 or 10,895,042). If the patent were asserted, the case might be indexed under the application number, the assignee, or a related family member rather than the patent number alone.
Prior-art date note. The record lists a prior art date of 2012-10-22, but the patent issued only on 2021-01-12 with anticipated expiration 2033-10-22. This is a recently granted patent, which reduces (but does not eliminate) the window in which litigation could plausibly have been filed and appear in my sources.
Related proceedings worth checking directly. To confirm conclusively, the authoritative sources to query manually are:
- PACER (pacer.uscourts.gov) — district court dockets, searchable by patent number or party (M-Flow Technologies Ltd).
- Unified Patents Portal — https://portal.unifiedpatents.com/litigation/caselist
- USPTO PTAB (ptacts.uspto.gov) — for any IPR/PGR against US 10,890,542.
- Federal Circuit opinions/orders (cafc.uscourts.gov).
- USPTO Patent Assignment / Global Dossier — the record already shows a 2020-10-23 assignment to "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD," which may reflect corporate restructuring relevant to any enforcement activity.
Conclusion
Based strictly on the sources I was able to search, no litigation involving U.S. Patent No. 10,890,542 is known or documented. I am not aware of any asserted assertion campaign, defendant, case number, jurisdiction, or outcome for this patent, and I will not fabricate one. If you can provide a party name, a related patent in the family (e.g., GB2511045A), or a date range, I can run more targeted searches to confirm whether any enforcement activity exists.
Generated 9/29/2026, 10:02:19 PM
Proceedings on file (0)
All PTAB activity →AIA trial proceedings (IPR / PGR / CBM) filed at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board against this patent. Sourced from the USPTO Open Data Portal and refreshed every six hours; each proceeding number deep-links to the PTAB E2E docket.
No PTAB proceedings on file. This patent has not been challenged via IPR, PGR, or CBM. The absence is itself a signal — well-asserted patents eventually attract IPRs. The LLM analysis below may surface filings the ODP feed hasn’t indexed yet.
PTAB challenges
AIA trial proceedings at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board — IPR, PGR, and CBM. Petitioners, judge panels, claim-level invalidation outcomes from Final Written Decisions, and Federal Circuit appeals. The single most important defensive datapoint after litigation history.
I'll start by verifying the structured "no proceedings" signal against live sources, and check for any related proceedings on the patent family (the '542 patent is a continuation with a 2012 priority date and a GB parent).
Searches surfaced no PTAB filings. Let me run a few more targeted queries to confirm the negative — including the patent family, the assignee's litigation history, and the Federal Circuit.
The negative finding is consistent so far. Let me check for any related litigation or IPR on the patent family (its parent, US 9,983,150), since family members can host the proceedings.
Proceedings overview
Total AIA trial proceedings on US 10,890,542: zero. The structured "PTAB proceedings on file" block (USPTO Open Data Portal, most recent ingest) states verbatim that the ODP API returns no AIA trial proceedings for this patent. My independent web searches (Google Patents, FreePatentsOnline, Justia assignee listings, PTAB-hosted petition documents, and general "IPR / PTAB" queries keyed to the patent number, the assignee, and the technology) surfaced no IPR, PGR, or CBM petition, no institution decision, no Final Written Decision, no termination/settlement, and no Federal Circuit appeal for US 10,890,542 or its immediate family members. The breakdown is therefore: active 0 / claims invalidated 0 / claims sustained 0 / settled 0 / institution denied 0.
Bottom-line defensive posture: this is the opposite of a "hardened by IPR" patent and the opposite of a "claims cancelled" patent — it is a completely untested patent. Every issued claim stands exactly as granted by the examiner, un-amended and un-adjudicated at the Board. There is no PTAB estoppel of any kind binding anyone, and there is no adverse PTAB record you can borrow. A defendant facing assertion today must build its § 102/§ 103/§ 112 case from scratch — but equally, there is no prior art "already of record" trap to worry about, and no earlier petitioner's grounds that the Board has already credited.
Proceedings
None to report. No proceeding numbers exist to enumerate, and per the operating rules I will not synthesize placeholder numbers. Concretely:
- No petition has ever been filed against US 10,890,542 that I can locate in public sources.
- No institution decision (grant, denial, or partial) exists.
- No Final Written Decision exists — so there are no canceled claims and no sustained claims to quote. I cannot quote claim numbers from an FWD because no FWD was issued.
- No settlement or termination and no PTAB appeal (and hence no CAFC docket number) exist.
Caveat on completeness (stated explicitly rather than papered over): the ODP ingest can lag recently filed petitions, and my search pass was not exhaustive — I was unable to complete every targeted query I had queued (e.g., a dedicated CourtListener docket sweep on the assignee, and a family-wide IPR check against US 9,983,150 / US 10,156,464 / US 10,738,920). The finding of "no proceedings" is well-supported by everything I did retrieve, but if the stakes are high you should re-run a direct check at the PTAB's public docket before relying on it.
Search-hygiene flag that matters here: auto-correcting or fuzzy-matching this patent number will produce false positives. My searches for the number pulled up US 11,090,542 B2 (Wahoo Fitness L.L.C.) — asserted in Wahoo Fitness L.L.C. v. Zwift, Inc., D. Del., filed 2022-10-03 (CourtListener RECAP: https://storage.courtlistener.com/recap/gov.uscourts.ded.80226/gov.uscourts.ded.80226.3.0.pdf) — and US 10,929,290, US 10,292,341, and US 11,109,542 (The Toro Company). None of these are US 10,890,542. Do not let a Westlaw/Google number-match pull these into your file.
Strategic summary
Claim status of US 10,890,542. Because there has been no AIA trial, the claim set is neither canceled nor adjudicated — it is entirely UNTESTED. No claim is CANCELED; no claim is judicially or administratively SUSTAINED; every claim is in the "untested" bucket. Practically, that means the full issued scope is live, and the patent carries an ODP-listed "Active" legal status with an anticipated expiration of 2033-10-22 (priority claimed from GB 1218953.0, filed 2012-10-22; continuation filed 2018-05-20). Note the priority chain matters to validity: the effective filing date is 2012-10-22 (with a 2013-02-20 GB 1302969.9 filing also in the chain, publishing as GB 2511045 A), so prior-art cutoffs should be measured against 2012-10-22, not the 2018-05-20 continuation filing date. One nuance a defendant can exploit or must respect: the '542 application was filed 2018-05-20 (well after the 2013 date), so verify whether all claims are entitled to the 2012 priority date for each limitation before locking in a cutoff.
Estoppel landscape — there is none, in either direction. Section 315(e)(2) estoppel only attaches to a petitioner that obtained an institution decision and reached FWD. No such petitioner exists. Consequently:
- No prior-art ground is foreclosed to any defendant — the entire field of § 102/§ 103 art is available.
- No party is barred from filing an IPR now; the § 315(b) one-year clock has never started because, on the record I could retrieve, there is no district court complaint asserting this patent, so no service date to run from. If and when a complaint is served on you, the clock starts: petition due within one year of service.
- Because the patent has never been before the Board, you also cannot rely on § 325(d) "art previously presented to the Office" to seek discretionary denial of someone else's petition — but note the flip side: the examiner's prosecution record is the only Office consideration, and IPR petitioners bear a high burden there is no shortcut around.
Pattern signals. No repeat-petitioner pattern can exist with zero proceedings. The patent owner, M-Flow Technologies Ltd (UK), is an operating technology developer with a coherent patent family (e.g., US 9,983,150, "Fluid sensor comprising a composite cavity member"; US 10,156,464, "Fluid sensor"; US 10,738,920, "Composite fluid conduit assembly"; GB 2511045 A; GB 2537902 A; GB 2538065 A), not an obvious shell-company PAE — the assignment record shows the patent sitting with the operating entity. There is no defensive aggregator (e.g., Unified Patents) in the chain, because there is no challenge at all. The likely inference: this portfolio has been monetized by licensing the technology/data rather than by serial patent assertion, which is consistent with the absence of both litigation and IPRs. That inference is soft, not proven.
Recommended next steps
- If you have been served with a complaint alleging US 10,890,542: there is nothing at the PTAB to help you and nothing to hurt you. Build the invalidity case yourself and calendar the § 315(b) deadline — one year from the date of service of the complaint — before filing any IPR or PGR. A PGR is unavailable here (the 9-month window from 2021-01-12 issuance has long closed), so IPR is your vehicle. No estoppel constrains your art selection.
- Do not cite a non-existent FWD. If you are a defendant and opposing counsel or a demand letter mischaracterizes the PTAB record — e.g., "the claims were upheld in IPR" — that is false. There has been no FWD. The Board's authoritative docket is at USPTO PTAB Center/E2E: https://ptacts.uspto.gov/ptabweb/ (public search: https://ptacts.uspto.gov/ptacts/public-information), and the patent itself is US 10,890,542 B2: https://patents.google.com/patent/US10890542/en.
- Statutory trial-deadline milestones only become relevant if a petition is filed. If one is instituted, the Board must issue a final determination within one year of institution (35 U.S.C. § 316(a)(11)), extendable to 18 months for good cause; there is no such clock running today.
- Check the family and the UK counterpart. This is a GB-priority family with corresponding UK/GB rights (GB 2511045 A, GB 2537902 A, GB 2538065 A). A challenge strategy aimed only at the US '542 patent may leave parallel UK rights untouched; conversely, UK proceedings may generate useful prior art and claim-construction material.
- Treat the absence of PTAB activity as informational, not exculpatory. Well-asserted patents in the oil-and-gas sensor space do eventually attract IPRs. The absence here suggests the patent has not been asserted broadly (or not at all) rather than that it is invulnerable. If it is now being asserted against you, you may be the first — which means your petition, if you file one, will be evaluated without any General Plastic / Fintiv follow-on baggage, though a co-pending advanced district court case can still support discretionary denial under Fintiv.
- Verify the negative directly before filing anything. Re-confirm at PTAB E2E and via CourtListener (https://www.courtlistener.com/?q=%2210890542%22) and the USPTO Patent Public Search assignment record (https://assignment.uspto.gov/), because ODP ingest lag is real and a newly filed petition may not yet be indexed.
Confidence statement: I have high confidence in the no-proceeding finding based on the structured ODP block plus the searches I completed. I have moderate confidence that no litigation exists, since I could not finish the full litigation-search pass. I will not state claim-level PTAB outcomes, judge panels, ground tables, or FWD dispositions, because none exist to report.
Generated 9/29/2026, 10:02:34 PM
Ownership chain (1)
Asserters network →Structured records extracted from the assignment-history narrative below. Each entity links to its full ownership-network profile.
? · recorded 2020-10-23 · Assignment
Assignment history
Inventors, original assignee, and the chain of ownership recorded with the USPTO — including the correspondent attorney who recorded each assignment, since shell-LLC chains often share one repeat-player attorney even when the entity names look unrelated. Surfaces NPE / patent-troll patterns: shell-entity transfers, known asserters in the chain, repeat correspondent fingerprints, pre-litigation assignments, and bankruptcy fire-sales.
I'll start by gathering what I can from public sources on this patent's ownership record.
Ownership & Assignment Reconstruction — US 10,890,542 B2
Verification link: USPTO Assignment Center — search by patent number 10890542 · Google Patents legal events for US10890542B2
Caveat up front — reel/frame not verifiable from the sources I could reach. The Google Patents legal-events feed for this patent exposes the reassignment event (date, assignor, assignee) but not the reel/frame. My searches against the Assignment Center index, PEDS/ODP mirrors, and general web did not return the recorded reel/frame numbers for this patent within the steps available. I am not going to invent a reel/frame. Everything below is marked by evidence strength.
Inventors
| Inventor | Name as recorded | Employer at filing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Giles Edward | "EDWARD, Giles" (US assignment record, 2020-10-23); "Edward, Giles" (OnScope US owner record) | M-Flow Technologies Limited (UK) — appears throughout the M-Flow patent family | Named on the separate M-Flow void-fraction family (e.g. EP 3 850 316, filed 2019-09-11, where the current proprietor is M-Flow Technologies Limited) |
| Alan Parker | "PARKER, Alan" (US assignment record, 2020-10-23); "Parker, Alan David" (EP/IE register and M-Flow technical papers) | M-Flow Technologies Limited (UK) — co-inventor and technical lead | Authored/co-presented M-Flow's field papers (e.g. NFOGM 2017 "Field Use of a Composite Phase Fraction Meter"), indicating continuity of employment with the assignee, not departure |
Unusual-pattern check — no red flag. Both inventors are signed as assignors to the operating company in 2020 and are still being named as inventors on M-Flow's later filings (2019 void-fraction family, EP/IE/CA registers). There is no evidence of inventors exiting the assignee within 12 months of filing, which is the classic precursor to a portfolio fire-sale.
Original assignee
M-Flow Technologies Limited (UK private limited company; Google Patents renders the legal event literal string as "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD" — noted verbatim, but the correct registered name per UK Companies House sources and OnScope is M-Flow Technologies Limited).
- Line of business: Manufactures multiphase and water-cut measurement systems (Sure-Cut® water-cut meter, BS&W meter, multiphase fraction meters) for upstream oil & gas, using carbon-fibre composite meter bodies — i.e. it ships a physical product that practices the composite-cavity sensing claims.
- HQ: Unit 2, Blacklands Way, Abingdon Business Park, Abingdon OX14 1DY, Oxfordshire, UK. Incorporated 11 April 2011; operating since 2011–2012.
- Corporate history: Previously known as Electro-Seismic Limited and M-Flow Meter Limited (name changes, not asset transfers).
- Status: Operating. Active. ~14–20 employees; ~$21.3M raised across 11 rounds (PitchBook), PE-backed by BGF, Azimuth Capital Management, Barclays, Innovate UK, Strategic Industrial Capital Partners. Reported total assets £1.84M, cash £123K (Endole). No bankruptcy, no dissolution, no acquisition surfaced.
- Portfolio context: ~10 granted US patents (PatentsView), 89 total documents in the wider family, first US patent 2013 ("Fluid sensor"), most recent 2022 — a continuing filer, not a one-patent shell.
Assignment timeline
Chronological list of what is actually on the record for this patent:
- 2012-10-22 (priority) — GB priority application (GB201218953D0). Not a US assignment event. Establishes the priority date Google Patents uses.
- 2013-02-20 (priority) — GB 1302969.9 → GB2511045A. Second priority. Not a US assignment event.
- 2018-05-20 — US application 15/984,411 filed by M-Flow Technologies Ltd (per Google Patents legal events, "Application filed by M Flow Technologies Ltd").
- This filing event is not itself a recorded assignment in the Assignment Center sense; it is the filing of the application by the then-owner.
- 2020-07-09 — Pre-grant publication US20200217806A1.
- 2020-10-23 (recorded) — Reel/frame NOT RETRIEVED (see caveat above).
- Conveyance: Assignment of assignors' interest (Google Patents labels this a "reassignment"; the event text is "ASSIGNMENT OF ASSIGNORS INTEREST (SEE DOCUMENT FOR DETAILS)").
- Assignor: Edward, Giles; Parker, Alan (the two named inventors)
- Assignee: "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD" (literal string as rendered) — i.e. M-Flow Technologies Limited
- Correspondent: Not determinable from the sources I could reach — the correspondent/recording attorney is the field most often missing from third-party mirrors and only fully visible in Assignment Center. Unknown, not "none."
- Context: Confirmatory/nunc-pro-tunc assignment of inventor rights to the employer — a routine housekeeping recordation, not an arm's-length transfer. The ~2.4-year lag between US filing (2018-05-20) and recordation (2020-10-23) is common for confirmatory filings.
- 2021-01-12 — Patent granted (US10890542B2) to M-Flow Technologies Ltd; "Anticipated expiration 2033-10-22" recorded.
- Post-2021 — No further assignments located. OnScope's current US owner record for US 10,890,542 still lists M-Flow Technologies Ltd (UK); Google Patents "Current Assignee" is M Flow Technologies Ltd.
If Assignment Center turns up additional entries beyond the 2020-10-23 event, this section should be regenerated — but on the evidence available, the chain is one link long and terminates at the original operating company.
Timeline diagram
timeline
title Ownership of US 10890542
2012 : Priority filing in the UK
2013 : Second UK priority filing
2018 : US application 15 984 411 filed by M-Flow
2020 : Inventor assignment recorded to M-Flow
2021 : Patent granted to M-Flow Technologies
: No further transfers recorded
NPE / troll-pattern signals
Shell-entity transfer — NOT PRESENT. The only transfer on the record (recorded 2020-10-23) runs from the inventors to the operating company, the opposite direction from a shell transfer. The assignee sits at a genuine operating address (Unit 2, Blacklands Way, Abingdon Business Park, OX14 1DY — M-Flow's own premises, not a registered-agent mailbox), employs 14–20 staff, has raised ~$21.3M in VC/PE funding, and sells branded hardware (Sure-Cut®).
Known asserter in the chain — NOT PRESENT. Neither the original nor the current assignee matches Acacia, Marathon, Intellectual Ventures, IPNav, Wi-LAN, Conversant/Mosaid, Vringo, Pendrell, Innovatio, MPHJ, Lumen View, Round Rock, Document Generation Corp, or any Spangenberg entity. M-Flow Technologies is an oilfield instrumentation manufacturer. I did not find this patent or M-Flow on RPX or Unified Patents asserter listings; note that I did not directly query those member directories, so treat the negative as "no evidence found" rather than "affirmatively cleared."
Repeat correspondent across the chain — NOT PRESENT (and not assessable). With only a single recorded link and no correspondent captured, there is no recurrence to test. This signal is unclear, but the underlying pattern it detects (one lawyer servicing a chain of look-alike LLCs) cannot exist where there is only one link and the assignee is an operating company.
Cascading transfers — NOT PRESENT. One recorded event over an eight-year ownership span. No chained LLCs, no <24-month serial transfers, no shared registered-agent addresses in the record.
Pre-litigation transfer — NOT PRESENT. No infringement suit naming US 10,890,542 was found (this is a multiphase-flowmeter patent; US patents of this type are litigated rarely, and no docket entry surfaced). The only recorded assignment (2020-10-23) also predates grant (2021-01-12), which is inconsistent with a venue/standing-oriented pre-suit transfer.
Bankruptcy fire-sale — NOT PRESENT. M-Flow Technologies Limited shows reported assets and ongoing filings through at least 2023. No Chapter 7/11 analogue (UK administration/liquidation) surfaced, and no patent was transferred out.
Privateering — NOT PRESENT. No operating-company-to-NPE transfer exists to support it, and no SEC-reporting parent is involved (M-Flow is a private UK company, so there is no 10-K/8-K trail to check).
Defensive aggregator — NOT PRESENT. The chain does not terminate at RPX, AST, LOT Network, Unified Patents, or OIN.
One item worth a footnote, not a signal: the Google Patents legal-event string names the assignee "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD" (no T). Read literally, that is not the same string as "M-Flow Technologies Ltd/Limited." I treat this as a rendering truncation in the Google Patents data rather than a distinct legal entity, because OnScope's independent US owner record for application 15/984,411 names M-Flow Technologies Ltd, and no US entity "M-Flow Technologies LD" appears anywhere in the corporate or IP record. If you need this pinned down, the recording cover sheet in Assignment Center will show the assignee's exact legal name as typed by the correspondent.
Verdict
Insufficient data (no records beyond the original assignment).
The chain consists of exactly one recorded event — the inventors' confirmatory assignment of 2020-10-23 (reel/frame not retrievable from the sources I could access) to M-Flow Technologies Limited, the same entity that filed application 15/984,411 on 2018-05-20 and holds the grant of 2021-01-12. There is no second assignee, no NPE in the chain, no litigation, and no defensive-aggregator endpoint, so none of the eight troll signals is present on the evidence.
Substantively, this reads as a clean operating-company ownership story — M-Flow sells composite multiphase/water-cut meters that practice the claimed composite-cavity sensor — but because the current holder is not shown to be asserting the patent against competitors, I do not elevate it to the "Operating-company assertion" verdict. Recommend re-running against Assignment Center filtered by patent number 10890542 to capture the reel/frame, conveyance type, and correspondent of record for the 2020-10-23 filing; those three fields are the only material gaps, and their absence is the sole reason for the "insufficient data" call rather than a clean non-NPE finding.
Generated 9/29/2026, 10:02:39 PM
Prior art
Earlier patents, publications, and products that may anticipate or render the claims unpatentable.
I'll search for the USPTO record and the cited prior art for US 10,890,542. Note upfront: the authoritative full text you supplied is truncated and does not include the front-page "References Cited" list, so I need to retrieve that separately.
The general searches didn't surface the citation list. Let me target the databases that publish front-page "References Cited" data for this exact patent.
I have the claim set now. I still need the front-page "References Cited" list. Let me chase the specific prior-art identifiers the patent discusses (e.g., FI834892, the Al-Hajeri papers) and the citation tables in other patent databases.
I hit the search-step limit before I could retrieve the front-page citation table. Rather than pad the record with guesses, here is a strictly grounded analysis of what I have, what I could not verify, and how to close the gap.
1. Patent identification (confirmed)
Searches for the exact number 10890542 return a single hit — US 10,890,542 B2, no near-number confusion observed:
| Field | Value (source: patent record) |
|---|---|
| Patent No. | US 10,890,542 B2 |
| Title | Fluid sensor comprising a composite cavity member |
| Application No. | US 15/984,411 (filed 2018-05-20) |
| Grant date | 2021-01-12 |
| Pre-grant pub. | US 2020/0217806 A1 (2020-07-09) |
| Priority | 2012-10-22 (GB1218953.6); 2013-02-20 (GB13029869.9 / GB2511045A) |
| Continuation chain | Continuation of US 14/437,702 (pub. US 2015/0260662 A1), which was the §371 national phase of PCT/GB2013/052756 (filed 2013-10-22) |
| Inventors | Giles Edward; Alan Parker |
| Assignee | M Flow Technologies Ltd (record also shows "M-FLOW TECHNOLOGIES LD," 2020-10-23) |
| Examiner | Farhana A. Hoque |
So the answering-critical date for §102 purposes is 22 October 2012.
2. Important limitation — I could NOT retrieve the examiner's "References Cited" list
The authoritative full text you supplied is truncated. It ends mid-sentence in the method section ("the electromagnetic field may comprise a radio frequency (RF) field, a microwave field, a mm-wave field, an optical field or…") and does not include the front-page (56) References Cited table — i.e., the list of U.S. patent documents, foreign patent documents, and non-patent literature that the Examiner cited. My web searches for that exact table (Google Patents "Patent Citations," Justia, FreePatentsOnline) returned the specification/claims but not the citation table before I exhausted my search budget.
Because your instruction is not to fabricate and to interpret IDs literally, I am not going to invent a list of cited patent numbers and attribute them to US 10,890,542. A false citation list is worse than none.
⚠️ Two decoys I encountered and am explicitly disqualifying — do not let these contaminate the record:
- A PTAB petition snippet listing Cooper (US 5,826,803), Saggio (US 2013/0118640), Weir (US 6,478,651), Lee (US 2005/0004430), Donaldson (US 5,014,757). Those are the asserted references against a water-balloon patent (the "'282-Patent"), not US 10,890,542.
- US 6,181,138 and US 5,469,062, which appeared in my searches, are cited in the ISR of WO 2011/115646 A1 (PCT/US2010/057403) — an unrelated flow-meter case. They are not citations of US 10,890,542.
3. Prior art that IS grounded in the authoritative text (acknowledged in the specification)
The specification's Background explicitly identifies the closest known art. These are the only prior-art references I can state with confidence from the text you supplied:
| # | Reference (as cited in the patent) | Date | Nature | Which claims it could bear on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| P1 | Known "multiphase meters": base pipe of PVC or PEEK surrounded by a concentrically-arranged open-ended cylindrical brass cavity member, with an air- or water-filled annular outer cavity region | Pre-2012 (generic prior art, no date given) | Product/device art | Independent claim 1 and its dependents — but see §4 |
| P2 | S. Al-Hajeri, S. R. Wylie, R. A. Stuart, A. I. Al-Shamma'a, "An electromagnetic cavity sensor for multiphase measurement in the oil and gas industry," J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 76 (2007) 012007 | 2007 | Non-patent literature | 1 (RF resonant-cavity measurement concept) |
| P3 | S. Al-Hajeri, S. R. Wylie, A. Shaw, A. I. Al-Shamma'a, "Real time EM waves monitoring system for oil industry three phase flow measurement," J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 178 (2009) 012030 | 2009 | Non-patent literature | 1 |
| P4 | S. R. Wylie, A. I. Al-Shamma'a, A. Shaw, S. Al-Hajeri, "Electromagnetic cavity sensors for multiphase measurement," Exploration and Production Oil and Gas Review, Vol. 9, Issue 1 | Undated in the text; Vol. 9 suggests ~2009–2011 | Non-patent literature | 1 |
| P5 | Finnish patent document FI 834892 | Not stated in the text; I could not confirm its publication date | Foreign patent document | 1 |
All four non-patent items (P2–P4) and P5 predate the 22 October 2012 priority date on their face and would be §102(a)(1)/pre-AIA §102(b) art as to a cavity-sensor concept; but none supplies the electrically-conductive composite cavity member, which is the core of claim 1.
4. §102 anticipation assessment (why none of the above anticipates)
Claim 1 (as granted, reproduced in the record) requires, in combination:
- a core defining a fluid flow path;
- a cavity member external to the core comprising an electrically-conductive composite material — a matrix with reinforcing elements embedded within it;
- the cavity member configured to confine an electromagnetic field, and the core configured to transmit EM radiation at that frequency;
- a first layer that is an electrically-conductive composite;
- a second layer, external to the first, configured to withstand a predetermined pressure/force/axial tension/compression/bending stress, and having the same composition as the first layer's composite; and
- the first layer's reinforcing elements on a first helical trajectory and the second layer's reinforcing elements on a different second helical trajectory.
Applying §102 to each reference:
- P1 (brass-cavity known meters) — Discloses elements 1, 3 and a metal cavity, but the cavity is brass (a solid metal), not a reinforced composite, and has no two-layer same-composition helical-reinforcement structure. It cannot anticipate claim 1; it is at most §103 background. The specification itself frames the invention as an improvement over this art (avoiding thick brass, external steel casing, corrosion).
- P2, P3, P4 (Al-Hajeri et al.) — These disclose RF resonant-cavity multiphase measurement and are addressed to the sensor principle; they disclose no composite cavity member, no matrix/reinforcement, and no dual helical-trajectory layers. → No anticipation of claim 1; potentially relevant only to the measurement-method context.
- P5 (FI 834892) — Cited as a known multiphase-meter example. Same reasoning: even if it shows a cavity-based meter, it does not disclose the claimed electrically-conductive composite cavity member with the two same-composition helical layers. → No anticipation of claim 1. (I could not independently verify its disclosure, so this is provisional.)
Bottom line on §102: On the record I can see, no reference anticipates claim 1; the anticipated-claim question turns on the composite-cavity/multi-layer-helical limitations, which the acknowledged art lacks. Any genuine §102 exposure would come from the examiner-cited patent documents I was unable to retrieve (see §5), and I will not speculate about their content.
5. How to obtain the actual citation list (authoritative next step)
To complete the task rigorously, pull the (56) References Cited table from:
- USPTO PatentCenter / Global Dossier for application 15/984,411 — gives the examiner-cited U.S. and foreign patent documents plus NPL, with the examiner's signature.
- Google Patents — US10890542B2, the "Patent Citations" section (distinct from "Cited By" and "Similar Documents").
- Espacenet / EPO — the A1/A2 search report for the family (PCT/GB2013/052756), which lists the X/Y-category references the EPO considered, often overlapping the U.S. citations.
- Justia Patents page for 10890542 — reproduces the front page including "References Cited."
If you paste that citation table (or the USPTO "References Cited" list) into the thread, I will immediately produce the per-reference deliverable you asked for — full citation, publication/filing date, brief description, and a claim-by-claim §102 anticipation chart — with no further hedging.
Confidence statement: Patent identity, claim text, priority/family, and the P1–P5 acknowledged references — high confidence (grounded in the supplied text and search hits). The complete examiner-cited references-cited list — not retrieved; deliberately not fabricated.
Generated 9/29/2026, 10:02:51 PM
Obviousness
Combinations of prior art that suggest the claimed invention would have been obvious under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Extensions
Patent term adjustments, term extensions, continuations, divisionals, family members, and expiration dates.
Derivative works
Defensive disclosure: derivative variations of each claim designed to render future incremental improvements obvious or non-novel.
Keep exploring
Other patents in Energy (E)
- US 5835366I'll search for this specific patent number and any associated litigation. Let me check for litigation involving this specific patent and verify assignee details. US Patent 5,835,366 — Summary Ground truth note: My searches located this…
- US 3422674I'll run the requested searches before summarizing. Scope note on the search I searched for the exact number 3422674 and US3422674 against patent databases and Federal Circuit materials. Findings and limitations: - The authoritative source…
- US 6875009I'll search for authoritative information on this specific patent number. Let me check for litigation/docket history and verify the patent's status. Let me do a couple of targeted checks on litigation and the family members. US 6,875,009…
- US 8304120I'll search for information on this specific patent number, including any litigation/docket references. Summary of US Patent 8,304,120 Status of my searches: My web searches confirmed the bibliographic and text data for this patent (Google…
- US 8326467I'll verify the patent details against live sources, particularly the litigation/docket information. Let me check for any Federal Circuit (CAFC) activity involving this patent. Let me pull the full issued claim set to characterize the…
- US 8030884I'll search for authoritative information on this specific patent number. Let me check for CAFC 2026 dockets and the litigation details. Let me check the 2026 case and any Federal Circuit activity. US Patent 8,030,884 — Analyst Summary…
- US 2214350I'll verify the record against live sources before summarizing, since you asked specifically for USPTO/CAFC checks. Verification note first I searched for the exact identifier 2214350. The only hits returned were unrelated to this patent…
- US 3753098I'll search for authoritative information on US 3753098 and check for any litigation involving it. Search results — litigation / docket check I searched for patent number 3,753,098 and associated enforcement activity. Findings: - No CAFC…