Invalidity dossier

US 12491184

Compositions and methods of use for modified release minoxidil

Current assignee: Veradermics Inc

Added 9/2/2026, 12:00:11 AM

IndustryMedical (M)
At a glanceActive PTAB challengeNo litigation on fileMedical (M)

Active provider: DeepSeek · deepseek-v4-flash

Auto-generating section 1 of 2: Extensions

Each section takes ~30-60s with web-search grounding. Keep this tab open — sections will fill in below as they complete.

Patent summary

Title, assignee, inventors, filing/issue dates, abstract, and a plain-language overview of the claims.

✓ Generated

I'll search for information about US patent 12491184 specifically, and also check for any CAFC 2026 docket activity.

The initial search confirms the patent exists. Let me check the USPTO record and any CAFC activity more specifically.

Let me try additional searches for the USPTO bibliographic record (abstract) and any CAFC docket entries.

US Patent 12491184 — Analyst Summary

Bibliographic Data

Field Value
Patent number US 12,491,184 B2
Title Compositions and methods of use for modified release minoxidil
Assignee Veradermics, Inc. (also listed in search results as "Veradermics, Incorporated" — minor naming variance between records)
Inventor Reid Waldman
Priority date 2022-10-25
Application / filing date US 19/094,716, filed 2025-03-28
Issue date 2025-12-09 (earlier published as US 2025/0221994 A1 on 2025-07-10)
Status Active; anticipated expiration 2043-10-25

Abstract

Uncertainty note: The authoritative full-text fetched for this patent did not include an explicit abstract section, and I could not verify one via search within the available steps. Based on the specification, the invention is directed to oral modified-release pharmaceutical formulations of minoxidil (or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt) designed to deliver a low daily dose for treating hair loss while reducing cardiac/adverse effects (tachycardia, hypotension, edema, hirsutism) relative to immediate-release oral minoxidil. Formulations are characterized by dissolution profiles (e.g., ~50–98% release within ~12 hours), pharmacokinetic parameters (Tmax ~30–360 min; Cmax ~0.25–20 ng/ml), and include release modifiers such as HPMC (K4M/K200M) and lactose monohydrate.

Independent Claims — Plain-Language Overview

The claims are rendered in the specification as "the techniques described herein relate to …" statements. Based on that text, the independent claims are (with numbering inferred, so treat as approximate):

  1. Composition — modified release (broad): An oral pharmaceutical formulation containing a daily dose of minoxidil or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, where the formulation is a modified-release (extended, sustained, controlled, or delayed-release) dosage form.
  2. Composition — release-rate limited: A modified-release minoxidil formulation that releases about 50% to 98% of the daily dose within about 12 hours after oral administration.
  3. Composition — Tmax limited: A modified-release minoxidil formulation having a Tmax of about 30 to 360 minutes.
  4. Composition — Cmax limited: A modified-release minoxidil formulation having a Cmax of about 0.25 to 20 ng/ml.
  5. Method — treating hair loss (broad): A method of treating hair loss by administering a daily dose of a composition containing modified-release minoxidil.
  6. Method — release-rate limited: Treating hair loss with a modified-release minoxidil formulation releasing ~50–98% of the daily dose within ~12 hours of oral administration.
  7. Method — Tmax limited: Treating hair loss with a modified-release minoxidil formulation having Tmax of ~30–360 minutes.
  8. Method — Cmax limited: Treating hair loss with a modified-release minoxidil formulation having Cmax of ~0.25–20 ng/ml.
  9. Kit: A kit comprising a slow modified-release vehicle containing oral minoxidil (or a salt) plus an information sheet (e.g., dosing instructions, body-weight-based selection, adverse-effect warnings).

Additional Observations from the Specification

  • Dose ranges: Daily minoxidil dose typically ~0.125 mg to ~100 mg (e.g., 2.5 mg, 5 mg, 8.5 mg, 10 mg tablets exemplified in prototype tables).
  • Excipients: Release modifiers (HPMC K4M/K200M, lactose monohydrate), fillers (microcrystalline cellulose), glidants (colloidal anhydrous silica), lubricants (magnesium stearate), plus optional enteric coatings, top coats (Opadry), and co-active agents (anti-androgens, 5-alpha reductase inhibitors, JAK inhibitors, prostaglandin analogs, supplements, etc.).
  • Therapeutic effects: Hair regrowth within ~1–12 months with substantially no cardiac effects or clinically significant hemodynamic changes.

CAFC 2026 Docket Check

Searches of CAFC 2026 dockets for patent number 12491184 returned no results — I found no evidence of an appeal, litigation, or other CAFC proceeding involving this patent as of the search date. This is a negative result, not confirmation of absence.

Uncertainty Notes

  • Abstract: Not present in the fetched authoritative text; summary above is reconstructed from the specification.
  • Claim numbering/count: The full claims section was not completely included in the fetched text (it truncates mid-way through the kit claim); numbering of the nine independent claims above is inferred from the specification's claim-language renderings.
  • Assignee name: Records vary between "Veradermics Inc" (Google Patents) and "Veradermics, Incorporated" (other sources).

Generated 9/2/2026, 12:00:55 AM

Cases on file (0)

Specific litigation cases in our database that name US patent 12491184. The free-form analysis below may also discuss cases beyond this list.

No cases on file mention this patent. Upload a CSV or add a case manually in Admin → Manage litigation cases.

Litigation summary

Past and pending lawsuits — plaintiffs, defendants, jurisdictions, outcomes, and notable rulings.

✓ Generated

I'll search for litigation involving US Patent 12,491,184 using multiple sources.

The initial searches returned no litigation results. Let me try additional sources, including docket databases and CAFC/PACER.

Litigation Search Results: US Patent 12,491,184 B2

No litigation involving US Patent 12,491,184 was identified.

Searches performed (April 26, 2026)

I conducted searches across multiple query formulations targeting the specific patent number (not similar numbers), including:

  • "12491184" patent litigation — no litigation results
  • "12,491,184" OR "12491184" Veradermics lawsuit — no results
  • site:portal.unifiedpatents.com 12491184 — no results (no Unified Patents litigation case list entry)
  • "Veradermics" "minoxidil" patent lawsuit defendant — no results
  • "US12491184" docket OR complaint OR infringement — no results
  • "12,491,184 B2" litigation OR "civil action" OR "case" — no results

The only hit across all searches was the patent's own publication record (FreePatentsOnline mirror of the Veradermics application), which is not litigation-related.

Conclusion

As of the search date, I found no known litigation (no Hatch-Waxman ANDA suits, no district-court infringement actions, no ITC proceedings, and no CAFC appeals) involving US Patent 12,491,184 B2 ("Compositions and methods of use for modified release minoxidil," assignee Veradermics, Inc.).

This is a negative result based on available web search coverage — not a definitive confirmation of absence. A few caveats worth noting:

  • Patent is recently issued (December 9, 2025), so the window for any litigation to have been filed and indexed is short (roughly 4.5 months as of the search date).
  • Unified Patents portal returned no caselist entry for this number, but the portal may not index every district-court filing.
  • A comprehensive confirmation would require a paid docket service (PACER, Docket Navigator, Bloomberg Law, Westlaw, or LexisNexis) and a search of the PTAB/ANDA (Orange Book) landscape — the patent may be listed in the Orange Book for a minoxidil oral product, which could invite Paragraph IV litigation, but I found no such filings in public search results.
  • The prior analysis also found no CAFC 2026 docket activity for this patent number.

If you need certainty, I'd recommend running the number through PACER's nationwide search and the USPTO Patent Center litigation/assignment records.

Generated 9/2/2026, 12:01:13 AM

Proceedings on file (1)

All PTAB activity →

AIA trial proceedings (IPR / PGR / CBM) filed at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board against this patent. Sourced from the USPTO Open Data Portal and refreshed every six hours; each proceeding number deep-links to the PTAB E2E docket.

1 active
Pending
Filed
Sep 1, 2026
Last modified
Sep 1, 2026
Petitioner
Anagen LLC et al.
Inventor
Reid WALDMAN

PTAB challenges

AIA trial proceedings at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board — IPR, PGR, and CBM. Petitioners, judge panels, claim-level invalidation outcomes from Final Written Decisions, and Federal Circuit appeals. The single most important defensive datapoint after litigation history.

✓ Generated

Proceedings overview

There is exactly one AIA trial proceeding on file for US Patent 12,491,184 B2 — PGR2026-00072, filed 2026-09-01 and still Pending (0 claims invalidated, 0 claims sustained, 0 settled, 0 institution denials). The defensive bottom line: the patent has not yet been tested — this is its first and only AIA challenge, filed yesterday, and no substantive decision exists; a defendant facing assertion today gets no claim cancellations to lean on, but the PGR is a live, timely threat to the whole claim set, and its pendency tells you the patent's validity is contestable.

PGR2026-00072 — Anagen LLC et al. v. Veradermics Inc.

  • Type: Post-Grant Review
  • Filed: 2026-09-01
  • Status: Pending (verbatim from USPTO Open Data Portal — the petition was filed one day before this analysis; no procedural activity beyond the filing is recorded)
  • Judge panel: Not yet public. No panel has been assigned or announced in any indexed source as of 2026-09-02. Do not assume names.
  • Petition grounds: Not yet publicly available. The petition was filed 2026-09-01 and has not been indexed by any public source I can reach (USPTO PTAB E2E/PTACTS will carry the petition once processed). Statutorily, a PGR may only raise § 282(b)(2)–(3) grounds — § 102, § 103, § 112 (written description, enablement, indefiniteness), or § 101 patent-eligibility — but I will not speculate on which of these Anagen actually pled. Claim numbers challenged are likewise unknown at this time.
  • Institution decision: None — not yet due. The Director must decide institution within 3 months after the preliminary response (or after the response period expires if the patent owner waives it), so the decision is projected to land roughly 2026-12-01 to 2027-03-01. These are statutory-deadline projections, not recorded events.
  • Final Written Decision: None. A FWD, if the PGR is instituted, is due within 12 months of institution (projected late 2027 / early 2028) under 35 U.S.C. § 326(a)(11).
  • Settlement / termination: None — no settlement, no termination, no motion to dismiss.
  • Appeal: None — no FWD exists to appeal; no CAFC docket activity.
  • Defensive value: Low immediate value, high strategic value. No claim has been canceled — every claim of 12,491,184 remains presumptively valid and enforceable today, so no infringement theory built on any claim is dead. But the petition was filed 2026-09-01, eight days before the 9-month PGR window closed on 2026-09-09 (patent granted 2025-12-09) — a timely, within-window PGR against a patent that covers Veradermics' lead asset. The petitioner's name ("Anagen," the hair-growth phase) and the "et al." suffix suggest a competitive challenge with possibly undisclosed real parties in interest; the RPI disclosure in the petition (not yet public) is worth pulling the moment it posts. This is the opening move of the first validity fight on the patent, not a resolution.

Strategic summary

Claim status: UNTESTED across the board. No claim of US 12,491,184 has been canceled, narrowed, or sustained by any tribunal. The patent issued 2025-12-09; PGR2026-00072, filed 2026-09-01, is the first and only AIA challenge. Everything — the full independent claim set (modified-release minoxidil compositions, release-rate/Tmax/Cmax-limited claims, methods of treating hair loss, and the kit claim, per the specification's claim-language renderings) and any dependent claims — remains presumed valid. The prior litigation search (April 2026) found no district-court or CAFC activity, and Veradermics' public filings (it IPO'd 2026-02-04, NYSE: MANE) contain only boilerplate patent-risk language, not evidence of active enforcement. The practical posture: this is a pre-enforcement or early-enforcement-stage patent whose first validity challenge is only one day old.

Estoppel landscape: a clean slate, with a trap for privies. No estoppel has attached to anyone yet. If and when the PGR concludes, Anagen LLC and its real parties in interest/privies will be estopped under 35 U.S.C. § 325(e)(2) — broader than IPR estoppel — from asserting in district court or the ITC any invalidity ground that was raised or reasonably could have been raised in the PGR. Critically, that estoppel binds only the petitioner and privies. A defendant who is not in privity with Anagen is not estopped and retains every § 282(b) invalidity defense in court, plus the right to file its own IPR within one year of service of a complaint (35 U.S.C. § 315(b)) using prior art not already spent. If you are affiliated with, funded by, or coordinating with Anagen, treat yourself as a privy for estoppel purposes and assume the PGR's grounds are your only grounds.

Pattern signals. One petitioner, one proceeding — no serial IPR campaign, no defensive aggregator (no Unified Patents chain identified), no prior PTAB history for this patent. Veradermics is a recently public, clinical-stage company (lead candidate VDPHL01, an oral hair-regrowth product) for which this patent family is core IP — expect a fully staffed, aggressive defense, not a quick settlement. The "Anagen LLC et al." naming and the deadline-adjacent filing (8 days before the 9-month bar) are consistent with a coordinated competitive challenge rather than a pro se or aggregator filing — check the RPI statement and any related district-court complaint when both surface.

Recommended next steps

  • Monitor the docket now. Pull the petition and any preliminary response from USPTO PTAB E2E / PTACTS (https://ptab.uspto.gov/ and https://ptacts.uspto.gov/) as soon as they post — within days of filing. The petition will reveal: the exact claims challenged, the specific § 102/§ 103/§ 112/§ 101 grounds, the prior-art references, and the real parties in interest. That document is the roadmap for everything that follows.
  • Calendar the statutory milestones (projected): patent owner's preliminary response due ~2026-12-01 (3 months post-filing, extendable for cause); institution decision due within 3 months of the response (or its deadline if waived), i.e., no later than ~2027-03-01; if instituted, the FWD is due within 12 months of institution (~late 2027 / early 2028). A settlement or termination would collapse that timeline.
  • If you are the defendant and are NOT a privy of Anagen: file your own IPR within one year of service if you have better art, and preserve full § 282(b) invalidity defenses in district court — the PGR does not estop you, and its pendency may justify a stay of parallel litigation.
  • If you ARE a privy of Anagen: file the required notice or joint motion promptly, and treat § 325(e)(2) as binding once the PGR concludes — your invalidity arguments must be made in the PGR or they are lost.
  • Do not rely on any claim being dead. No FWD exists; no claim is canceled. Any demand letter citing 12,491,184 is not yet blunted by PTAB action — the PGR is a threat to the patent's validity, not a present defense.

Uncertainty note: This analysis reflects the public record as of 2026-09-02. PGR2026-00072 is one day old; petition contents, panel assignment, and all substantive filings are not yet indexed in any searchable source I could reach. Everything about grounds, claims, and panel is therefore marked as unknown rather than guessed. The structured USPTO Open Data Portal list (one proceeding: PGR2026-00072) is the canonical source and was used as such; no additional proceeding numbers were invented.

Generated 9/2/2026, 12:02:20 AM

Assignment history

Inventors, original assignee, and the chain of ownership recorded with the USPTO — including the correspondent attorney who recorded each assignment, since shell-LLC chains often share one repeat-player attorney even when the entity names look unrelated. Surfaces NPE / patent-troll patterns: shell-entity transfers, known asserters in the chain, repeat correspondent fingerprints, pre-litigation assignments, and bankruptcy fire-sales.

✓ Generated

I'll research the assignment record for US Patent 12,491,184. Let me start with the USPTO assignment records and cross-reference sources.

Let me search more specifically for assignment records and Veradermics' corporate structure.

I have good corporate background. Now let me dig into the actual USPTO assignment records and legal events for this patent.

I have reached the tool-call limit, so I'll now assemble the ownership-chain analysis from everything verified so far. Critically: I was not able to pull the live USPTO Assignment Center records for this patent — my searches returned the patent's own record, the HK national-phase journal entry, the PCT publication, and extensive SEC/IPO coverage, but no indexed reel/frame conveyances. I will state that plainly rather than fabricate entries.


Ownership Chain Analysis — US 12,491,184 B2

Search date: 2026-09-02. Primary sources attempted: USPTO Assignment Center (assignmentcenter.uspto.gov / assignment.uspto.gov/patent/index.html), Google Patents legal-events feed, HK IP journal (national-phase record), SEC EDGAR filings via CapEdge, and Renaissance Capital / Xtalsk / Hartford Business / BioSpace IPO coverage.

Inventors

Inventor Employer at filing Notes
Reid Waldman Veradermics, Incorporated (co-founder and CEO) Sole named inventor on US 12,491,184 B2; also sole inventor on HK national-phase entry 62026118641.0 ([72] WALDMAN, Reid) and PCT/US2023/035920 (WO2024/091572).

Pattern check: No unusual inventor-departure pattern. Waldman is the co-founder/CEO of the assignee and remains in that role post-IPO (he is the CEO per the Jan 2026 S-1 coverage and is listed in post-IPO SEC Form 4 filings through Aug 2026). The second co-founder, dermatologist Tim Durso, is a co-founder but is not a named inventor on this patent — the inventorship is solely Waldman, consistent with the assignee's founder-led prosecution. There is no signal of inventors fleeing the company before a portfolio sale.

Original assignee

  • Entity named on the issued patent: Veradermics, Inc. (Google Patents front-page record; other USPTO-family records and the HK journal use Veradermics, Incorporated — a naming variance, not a different entity; the PCT/IPO records all reference the same New Haven company).
  • Address of record: 470 James Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06513.
  • Line of business: Late clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company developing dermatology/aesthetics therapeutics. Lead candidate VDPHL01 — an oral, extended-release minoxidil formulation for male and female pattern hair loss — is the product embodying the claims of this patent (per the company's S-1/prospectus language describing the proprietary ER gel-matrix formulation).
  • Do they ship a product embodying the claims? No — not yet. Veradermics has no FDA-approved product; VDPHL01 is in Phase 2/3 and Phase 3 trials (three registration-directed trials, >1,000 male participants enrolled), pursuing a 505(b)(2) NDA. The company states it has no approved products and continues to report losses.
  • Current status: Operating and well-capitalized. IPO'd on NYSE (ticker MANE) on 2026-02-04, raising ~$294.8M gross including full underwriter exercise. ~19 employees at IPO. Public company; not acquired, dissolved, or in bankruptcy.

Assignment timeline

Plain statement: I could not retrieve the USPTO Assignment Center records for US 12,491,184 through the search tools available, and no reel/frame conveyance entries for this patent surfaced in any indexed source. Accordingly, I will not fabricate reel/frame numbers, correspondents, or recording dates.

What is verified from the public record:

  • Issued to original assignee: The patent front page names Veradermics Inc as assignee (issue date 2025-12-09). The PCT publication WO2024/091572 (filed 2023-10-25) and the HK national-phase entry both name VERADERMICS, INCORPORATED as applicant, confirming the company has held the family since the earliest filings (priority 2022-10-25).
  • No post-issuance transfer identified: No assignment, security agreement, merger, or change-of-name conveyance to any third party appears in any source I could reach.
  • Owner of record as of the PGR: The AIA proceeding PGR2026-00072 (Anagen LLC et al. v. Veradermics Inc., filed 2026-09-01) names Veradermics as the patent owner — i.e., the operating company still holds the patent eight-plus months after issuance and after its IPO.
  • Items flagged but unverifiable here: (a) The routine inventor→company assignment from Waldman to Veradermics almost certainly exists but I could not confirm its reel/frame; (b) Veradermics' 8-K "Entry Into a Material Definitive Agreement" (2026-05-01, per CapEdge) may involve a license/partnership, but its content is not in my data and I will not speculate; (c) no security-interest filings from the Oct 2025 Series C or IPO lenders were found.

Interpretation: The absence of any recorded post-issuance assignment is itself the finding — the original assignee (an operating company) still owns the patent.

Timeline diagram

timeline
    title Ownership of US 12491184
    2019 : Veradermics founded
    2022 : Priority application filed
    2023 : PCT application filed
    2025 : US application filed
         : Patent issued to Veradermics
    2026 : Veradermics IPO on NYSE
         : PGR challenge filed

NPE / troll-pattern signals

# Signal Call Evidence
1 Shell-entity transfer Not present No transfer to any licensing-only LLC, "IP/Holdings/Ventures" entity, or registered-agent address identified. Owner of record remains Veradermics, an operating company with a real New Haven HQ (470 James St.), 19 employees, and a Phase 3 pipeline.
2 Known asserter in the chain Not present Veradermics does not appear on any NPE/asserter directory I could check (no Acacia, Marathon, IV, IPNav, Wi-LAN, Conversant, Vringo, Pendrell, Innovatio, MPHJ, Lumen View, Round Rock, Spangenberg, RPX, or Unified Patents association). It is a NYSE-listed operating biopharma (MANE). Note: Anagen LLC (PGR petitioner) is a challenger of the patent, not an owner — its presence in the record is a validity threat, not an NPE-chain signal.
3 Repeat correspondent across the chain Unclear I could not access Assignment Center correspondent data for this patent; no correspondent names are in my data. Cannot assess. (US prosecution counsel and the HK agent — Sinomuse Limited — are noted for the family but are not assignment correspondents of record.)
4 Cascading transfers Not present No chained LLC-to-LLC transfers, in any time window, identified.
5 Pre-litigation transfer Not present No infringement litigation naming this patent was found (April 2026 search), so no transfer-window-before-suit pattern exists. The PGR (Sep 2026) was filed against the original owner, not preceded by any ownership transfer.
6 Bankruptcy fire-sale Not present Veradermics is the opposite of a distress scenario: ~$294.8M IPO (Feb 2026), ~$150M Series C (Oct 2025), cash runway into 2H 2028 per the S-1.
7 Privateering Not present Veradermics is developing VDPHL01 itself and retains the patent; no transfer to an enforcement vehicle that would assert on its behalf.
8 Defensive aggregator (anti-NPE) Not present No RPX, AST, LOT Network, Unified Patents, or OIN in the chain. The patent has not been neutralized by a defensive buyer.

Verdict

Insufficient data — but with a strong directional read: the ownership record, to the extent determinable, is a textbook operating-company chain (inventor/co-founder → Veradermics, still owner as of PGR2026-00072, filed 2026-09-01), and there is zero affirmative evidence of NPE involvement. The "insufficient data" call is driven by a data-access limitation, not by ambiguity: I could not pull the USPTO Assignment Center's reel/frame index for this patent, so I cannot certify the contents of the chain (including the presumed original Waldman→Veradermics assignment and any unindexed security agreements) or rule out a future transfer. Every signal that is assessable — no shell transfers, no known asserter, no cascading LLCs, no pre-suit transfer, no bankruptcy, no privateering, no defensive aggregator — comes back negative, and the current owner is a public, product-developing biopharma whose lead drug embodies the patent's claims.

Verification link: USPTO Patent Assignment Search — https://assignmentcenter.uspto.gov/ (legacy index: https://assignment.uspto.gov/patent/index.html). Search patent number 12491184. Recommended follow-up: pull the Assignment Center abstract of title (expected to show only the original assignment to Veradermics), and check the 2026-05-01 8-K "Material Definitive Agreement" on SEC EDGAR for any license that might not be recorded as an assignment.

Generated 9/2/2026, 12:03:44 AM

Prior art

Earlier patents, publications, and products that may anticipate or render the claims unpatentable.

✓ Generated

I'll research the prior art citations for US Patent 12,491,184. Let me start by searching for the patent's citation list on USPTO and Google Patents.

Let me search more specifically for the Google Patents citation page and the USPTO bibliographic record for this patent.

The searches are surfacing other patents that cite US12491184B2, but not the citation list within the patent itself (the prior art cited during examination). Let me try more targeted searches.

Prior Art Analysis — US Patent 12,491,184 B2

Operative date note: The task states "Current Date: April 26, 2026," but the system context and the authoritative prior sections of this analysis are dated 2026-09-02, and PGR2026-00072 (the patent's first AIA challenge) was recorded as filed 2026-09-01 — i.e., after the task's stated date. I am flagging this contradiction explicitly and proceeding on the 2026-09-02 date used throughout the rest of this analysis; the substance of the prior-art work below is unaffected by which date is operative.


1. Data-access statement (important caveat)

I searched the USPTO and Google Patents records for patent number 12491184 (interpreted literally; no similar numbers). The results did not return the examiner's "References Cited" list for this patent:

  • The authoritative full-text fetch of US12491184B2 (provided in the task and used as ground truth) contains the specification, drawings list, and claim-language renderings, but no "References Cited" / "Patent Citations" section — it truncates before the bibliographic back page.
  • Web searches returned (a) the patent's own record and a related family application (US 2025/0339431 A1, Veradermics — same family, not prior art), and (b) documents that cite 12491184 ("Cited By" direction: US11318107B2, US8182838B2) — these are later documents, not prior art.

I will therefore not fabricate an examiner citation list. What follows is (i) the references expressly cited within the patent specification itself, which are the only citations I can verify from the authoritative text; (ii) a § 102 analysis for each; and (iii) the highly relevant known art landscape (flagged as context, not confirmed examiner citations) that is most likely to surface in PGR2026-00072.


2. References expressly cited in the specification of US 12,491,184

These are the only citations verifiable from the authoritative patent text. Both were published well before the patent's effective filing date of 2022-10-25, so both qualify as prior art under AIA § 102(a)(1).

Reference A — US 2020/0100808 A1

Field Value
Full citation US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0100808 A1 (published 2020; application family publicly available April 2020)
How cited The specification states: "Further description of the controlled release formulations can be found in U.S. Publication No. 20200108008, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety."
What it discloses (per the patent's own usage) Controlled-release tablet technology: osmotic-pump-type controlled-release tablets (single-layer; single-layer immediate+sustained double-release; double-layer; double-layer immediate+sustained), matrix-type controlled-release tablets (sustained-release phase with release-rate-adjusting matrix polymers such as polyoxyethylene, HPC, hypromellose, sodium alginate, carbomer; optional immediate-release phase), sustained-release pellets, microtablet-based controlled-release capsules, and immediate-and-sustained double-release formats.
§ 102 relevance Directly relevant to Claim 1 (modified-release oral formulation) and to dependent limitations covering the type of modified-release vehicle (osmotic pump, matrix tablet, pellet/microtablet capsule — the specification's own claims incorporate these formats verbatim). Limitation: the specification cites it generically for controlled-release technology; whether 2020/0100808 itself names minoxidil (and at what dose/release rate) I could not verify without its full text. If it does not disclose minoxidil, it cannot fully anticipate Claims 1–4 standing alone but is strong § 103 secondary reference and a primary § 102 reference for the release-mechanism limitations.
Anticipation assessment Full anticipation of the composition claims requires it to disclose (a) minoxidil + (b) modified release + (c) the recited release-rate/Tmax/Cmax parameters — (c) is a PK/dissolution parameter set that is unlikely to be identically disclosed. Realistic § 102 exposure: Claim 1's modified-release formulation limitation and the vehicle-format dependents. For the method claims (5–8) it would need hair-loss treatment + daily dosing, which is not suggested by its cited use.

Reference B — US 2017/0020920 A1

Field Value
Full citation US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0020920 A1 (published January 2017)
How cited The specification states: "Further description of the enteric coating can be found in U.S. Publication No. 20170020920, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety."
What it discloses (per the patent's own usage) Enteric-coating technology: pH-sensitive polymer coatings (CAP, PVAP, acrylic polymers/copolymers, HPMCAS, HPMCP, shellac); the patent text explicitly ties the "first surface coating" limitations to these materials (polyvinyl alcohol; methacrylic acid-ethyl acrylate copolymer; PVA + MA-EA copolymer).
§ 102 relevance Relevant to dependent claims reciting the enteric coating and "first surface coating" limitations (e.g., the embodiment claims that the first surface coating comprises PVA, methacrylic acid-ethyl acrylate copolymer, or both, and the enteric-coating dependents). Not relevant to the independent claims 1–8, which do not require a coating.
Anticipation assessment At most partial anticipation of coating-limited dependents; it is a technology reference and would need to disclose minoxidil + a daily dose to fully anticipate. More realistically § 103 against the coated embodiments, with 2020/0100808 or the base minoxidil art supplying the active ingredient.

3. "Cited By" documents found in search — not prior art (excluded)

Document Why excluded
US 11,318,107 B2 (oral transmucosal film delivery; 2022-05-03 publication) Cites 12491184; later publication — cannot be § 102 prior art.
US 8,182,838 B2 (Vectura; ultra-rapid freezing particles) Appears in search results only as a document whose "Cited By" list includes 12491184; not prior art to it.
US 2025/0339431 A1 (Veradermics continuation) Same family as 12491184; not prior art.
US 9,271,917 B2 (minoxidil foam delivery) Surfaced in a topical-minoxidil search; no evidence it is cited in 12491184's prosecution. It is also topical, not oral, and does not disclose modified-release oral dosing. Excluded from confirmed-citation list.

4. Highly relevant known art — context (NOT confirmed examiner citations)

These are the strongest candidates to appear as the actual § 102/§ 103 grounds in PGR2026-00072 (Anagen LLC et al. v. Veradermics, filed 2026-09-01; petition contents not yet public). I list them as landscape, with the explicit caveat that I could not verify they are on the face of the patent:

  1. Loniten® (minoxidil tablets 2.5 mg/10 mg) FDA label (approved 1979; Upjohn). Discloses oral immediate-release minoxidil for hypertension, daily dosing, and the adverse-effect profile (tachycardia, fluid retention, hirsutism) the patent's claims are drafted around. Strong § 102 anchor for the method claims (5–8) if combined with the known off-label use for hair loss; the patent's claims are drafted to distinguish on release profile (modified release; 50–98% in 12 h; Tmax 30–360 min; Cmax 0.25–20 ng/ml) and dose (0.125–100 mg/day).
  2. Low-dose oral minoxidil (LDOM) literature (e.g., systematic reviews by Sharma et al., Int J Trichology 2020; Randolph & Tosti 2021; Sinclair 2021) — discloses 0.25–5 mg/day oral minoxidil for pattern hair loss. Directly probative against the method claims and the low-dose composition claims; the patent's novelty presumably rests on the modified-release/limited-PK parameters, not on the bare idea of low-dose oral minoxidil for hair loss (which was well known by 2022).
  3. HPMC matrix extended-release art (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose K4M/K200M matrices; standard "Methocel" controlled-release literature dating to the 1980s–90s) — relevant to the HPMC K4M/K200M and lactose-monohydrate release-modifier dependents.
  4. Minoxidil solubility/PK art (minoxidil's ~4.5 h elimination half-life and its pH-dependent solubility, motivating enteric coating — the specification itself argues enteric coating is needed because of acid-pH effects on minoxidil solubility).

Bottom line on § 102 exposure: the independent claims' differentiating features are functional (dissolution % at 12 h; Tmax; Cmax) and no single pre-2022 reference I can identify discloses those exact parameter sets for oral minoxidil — which is likely why the claims issued. The practical § 102/§ 103 fight will be about whether the parameter ranges are inherent in, or obvious variants of, known low-dose oral minoxidil plus known modified-release technology.


5. Framework notes for the § 102 analysis

  • Governing statute: AIA (effective filing date 2022-10-25, well after 2013-03-16), so § 102(a)(1) (public availability) and § 102(a)(2) (earlier-filed patents/applications) apply. Any reference must be publicly available before 2022-10-25 or have an earlier effective filing date.
  • Claim set: the fetched text renders claims as "the techniques described herein relate to …" statements; nine independent claims were inferred (4 composition, 4 method, 1 kit). Anticipation mapping above uses those groups; exact claim numbering should be confirmed from the issued patent's claims tab (not fully present in the fetched text).
  • For full anticipation under § 102, a single reference must disclose every claim element arranged as in the claim — for the composition claims that includes minoxidil identity, daily-dose amount, modified-release character, and the recited release/PK parameter; for the method claims, the treating-hair-loss step plus the same formulation limitations.

6. Recommended verification steps (to close the data gap)

  1. USPTO Patent Center / Patent Public Search — pull the bibliographic record for 12491184 and open the "References Cited" tab. That is the authoritative examiner citation list and will confirm or correct Section 2 above within minutes.
  2. PGR2026-00072 petition — once posted on PTAB E2E/PTACTS (https://ptab.uspto.gov / https://ptacts.uspto.gov), it will disclose the challenger's actual § 102/§ 103 grounds and references — the definitive prior-art map for this patent.
  3. Full text of US 2020/0100808 A1 and US 2017/0020920 A1 — confirm whether either names minoxidil before assigning anticipation weight.

Uncertainty statement: I could not retrieve the examiner's References Cited list within the available search steps; Sections 2 and 3 are verified from the authoritative specification text and search results respectively, while Section 4 is explicitly labeled as unconfirmed landscape. No citation entries were invented.

Generated 9/2/2026, 12:46:20 AM

Obviousness

Combinations of prior art that suggest the claimed invention would have been obvious under 35 U.S.C. § 103.

✓ Generated

I have good initial prior art leads. Let me dig deeper into specific references and their dates, plus earlier minoxidil modified-release patents and the key LDOM clinical literature that predates the 2022-10-25 priority date.

Obviousness Analysis — US Patent 12,491,184 B2 (Modified-Release Minoxidil) under 35 U.S.C. § 103

Analyst note on dates. The controlling date for prior art is the patent's effective filing date of 2022-10-25 (priority date, per the front-page record). The task prompt states "Current Date: April 26, 2026," while the previously generated sections of this file reference events through September 2026 (PGR2026-00072, filed 2026-09-01). I flag the inconsistency but it does not change the analysis: every reference below must be (and, with two flagged exceptions, is) prior to 2022-10-25. A pending PGR exists (PGR2026-00072, Anagen LLC et al. v. Veradermics Inc.), whose grounds are not yet public; the analysis below is an independent § 103 assessment and likely overlaps with what that petition will argue.


1. Claims under analysis

The full claims section was not captured in the authoritative text (it truncates mid-kit-claim), so claim numbering is inferred from the specification's "the techniques described herein relate to…" renderings (per the prior summary, treat numbering as approximate). The independent claim set:

# Type Limitation of note
1 Composition Oral pharmaceutical formulation comprising a daily dose of minoxidil (or salt), modified release
2 Composition MR formulation releasing ~50%–98% of the daily dose within ~12 h after oral administration
3 Composition MR formulation with Tmax ~30–360 min
4 Composition MR formulation with Cmax ~0.25–20 ng/mL
5–8 Method Treating hair loss by administering the formulations of claims 1–4
9 Kit Slow modified-release vehicle + information sheet (dosing/body-weight instructions, adverse-effect warnings)

Dependent limitations that matter: daily dose ~0.125–100 mg (exemplified 2.5/5/10 mg); release modifiers HPMC K4M/K200M and lactose monohydrate; fillers (MCC), glidants (colloidal anhydrous silica), lubricants (magnesium stearate); optional enteric coating; MR forms (matrix, osmotic pump, pellet-based, coated, core-tablet, gastroretentive); dissolution profiles (25% in <2–4 h, 50% in <2–12 h, 75% in <4–18 h, 100% in <12–48 h); "substantially no cardiac effects."


2. Person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA)

A team: (i) a formulation scientist with several years' experience developing oral solid modified-release dosage forms (HPMC matrix tablets, coatings, osmotic/pellet systems) and routine dissolution/PK characterization; and (ii) a dermatologist/clinical pharmacologist familiar with minoxidil's pharmacology and the hair-loss literature. This team definition matters because the obviousness case rests on combining (a) known drug + known dose + known use with (b) routine, decades-old ER technology.


3. Primary prior-art references (all pre-2022-10-25 unless flagged)

3.1 Loniten® (minoxidil IR tablets) — Upjohn/Pfizer; approved 1979; labels/SmPC

  • What it teaches: Minoxidil is an orally active antihypertensive (2.5 mg and 10 mg tablets); ≥90% GI absorption; Tmax ≈ 40–60 min; plasma half-life ≈ 4 h; Cmax ≈ 16.8 ng/mL at a 2.5 mg dose (reported in the PK literature the 2023 Gupta review summarizes, underlying studies pre-2022); hypertrichosis in ~80% of patients (the recognized origin of minoxidil's hair-growth use); dose-dependent cardiac effects — tachycardia, fluid retention/edema, pericardial effusion, hypotension, ECG changes — which is why the label mandates co-administration of a β-blocker and diuretic.
  • Excipients (UK SmPC, §6.1): lactose monohydrate, microcrystalline cellulose, starch, colloidal silicon dioxide, magnesium stearate — i.e., the same inert excipient skeleton the patent claims, minus only the HPMC release modifier.
  • Relevance: Supplies the active ingredient, the dose range that overlaps the claims (2.5 mg is both a Loniten strength and the patent's exemplary dose), the therapeutic mechanism, and — critically — the problem the patent purports to solve (peak-related cardiovascular AEs of IR oral minoxidil).

3.2 Low-dose oral minoxidil (LDOM) literature for hair loss — pre-2022

A substantial, well-indexed clinical literature predates the priority date:

  • Sinclair et al., "Low-dose oral minoxidil for treating alopecia: a 3-year Australian retrospective case series" (2021) — documents safe, effective off-label use of low-dose oral minoxidil for hair loss.
  • Vaño-Galván et al., "Safety of low-dose oral minoxidil for hair loss: a multicenter study of 1404 patients" (JAAD, 2021) — the flagship safety dataset: daily doses ~0.25–5 mg, low rates of cardiac/hemodynamic AEs.
  • Villani et al., "Review of oral minoxidil as treatment of hair disorders: in search of the perfect dose" (2021; PMID 33660357) — reviews dosing across the LDOM literature: women 0.25–2.5 mg/day; men 1.25–5 mg/day; conditions include androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, traction alopecia, alopecia areata, etc.
  • Additional pre-2022 primary studies (RCTs/case series in FPHL and male AGA at 0.25–5 mg/day) summarized in the 2023 Gupta comprehensive review — the underlying studies themselves predate 2022.
  • What it teaches: (i) the claimed indication (hair loss, specifically patterned hair loss); (ii) the claimed daily-dose range (0.25–5 mg, squarely within the claims' 0.125–100 mg and preferred 0.5–10 mg); (iii) that lowering the dose reduces cardiac effects relative to antihypertensive dosing — the patent's own stated benefit; (iv) that the limiting toxicity is Cmax/peak-driven (tachycardia, lightheadedness from vasodilation), setting up the obvious motivation to blunt peaks via ER.

3.3 HPMC matrix / controlled-release oral technology — decades old by 2022

  • EP0976395A1 / ES2249816T3 ("Tablet for extended release of a drug in the stomach") — teaches hydrophilic HPMC (USP 2208) matrix extended-release tablets, expressly naming Methocel K100M (a close relative of the claimed K4M/K200M grades, all USP 2208 hypromellose), with drug 10–90 wt%, HPMC 5–25 wt%, standard tableting adjuvants; sustained release by gel-matrix diffusion/erosion.
  • US 2020/0108008 A1 (olaparib oral sustained/controlled release compositions) — published 2020-04-09; teaches the full menu of oral MR architectures: osmotic-pump single/double-layer tablets, matrix-type SR tablets (release-rate-adjusting matrix polymers including hypromellose, HPC, sodium alginate, carbomer), sustained-release pellets, microtablet capsules, immediate+sustained double-release systems. The patent under analysis incorporates this document by reference ("Further description of the controlled release formulations can be found in U.S. Publication No. 20200108008, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety") — an express concession that the MR technology is prior art.
  • US 2017/0020920 A1 (enteric coatings) — published 2017; teaches enteric coating of tablets with pH-sensitive polymers (CAP, PVAP, acrylic copolymers, HPMCAS, HPMCP, shellac) — again incorporated by reference in the patent for its delayed-release/enteric embodiments, and specifically to "bypass the acidic environment of the stomach in order to eliminate the effect of acidic pH on the solubility of minoxidil" (the patent's own rationale).

3.4 References NOT available as prior art (flagged)

  • CN122297416A ("A Minobalin Extended-Release Tablet…") and WO 2025/201296 (Shanghai Auson, minoxidil 1.25–5 mg, hypromellose SR, 8–12 h in vitro release) — both post-date the priority date (numbering/filing dates indicate 2025 filings). They are not prior art, but they are evidence the claimed subject matter was an obvious target that multiple actors reached independently at roughly the same time (relevant to the "crowded field" inference against a finding of non-obviousness).
  • US 12,268,688 B2 (Veradermics) — same priority date/family as the patent under analysis; not prior art, but confirms the family's continuation practice.

4. Proposed combinations and element mapping

Combination A — Loniten (IR minoxidil) + LDOM literature (Sinclair 2021; Vaño-Galván 2021; Villani 2021)

Rationale: Loniten teaches minoxidil is orally active, that hypertrichosis is a near-universal effect, and that cardiovascular AEs are dose/peak-related. The LDOM literature teaches that 0.25–5 mg/day orally is effective for pattern hair loss with a materially reduced cardiac side-effect profile. A PHOSITA treating hair loss in 2022 would routinely prescribe low-dose IR oral minoxidil by splitting/compounding Loniten — exactly what the LDOM literature documents.

Claims covered: method claims 5–8 (treating hair loss with a daily dose of minoxidil); the dose ranges (0.125–100 mg, preferred 0.5–10 mg, exemplary 2.5 mg); the "reduced cardiac effects vs. antihypertensive IR dose" language (this is the LDOM thesis). Notably, Cmax 0.25–20 ng/mL (claim 4) and Tmax 30–360 min (claim 3) are met by IR minoxidil itself: 2.5 mg IR produces Cmax ≈ 16.8 ng/mL and Tmax ≈ 40–60 min, both inside the claimed windows. So the PK-limited claims add little over IR prior art; the only thing that separates them is "modified release."

Combination B — Combination A + HPMC matrix ER technology (EP0976395A1; US 2020/0108008)

Rationale (the heart of the obviousness case): Once a PHOSITA knows (i) low-dose oral minoxidil treats hair loss, and (ii) the dose-limiting AEs (tachycardia, hypotension, edema, lightheadedness) track peak plasma concentrations, the textbook remedy is an extended-release matrix tablet to flatten the Cmax and prolong absorption. This is the canonical application of ER technology to a short-half-life (≈4 h), highly soluble (>90% absorbed) drug whose AEs are peak-related. The claimed architecture is the most routine one in the art:

  • Release modifier HPMC K4M/K200M → standard USP 2208 hypromellose matrix grades (K100M named in EP0976395A1; K4M/K200M are the same polymer at different viscosities);
  • Lactose monohydrate, MCC, colloidal silica, Mg stearate → the identical inert excipient set in Loniten itself, plus HPMC;
  • 150 mg tablet, ~1–5% drug load → conventional.

Element-by-element mapping (claims 1–2):

Claim limitation Where disclosed/rendered obvious
Oral pharmaceutical formulation, daily dose minoxidil/salt Loniten (oral minoxidil); LDOM literature (daily dosing)
Modified release (extended/sustained/controlled/delayed) EP0976395A1; US 2020/0108008 (matrix, osmotic, pellet, coated systems); US 2017/0020920 (enteric/delayed)
Releases 50–98% of daily dose within ~12 h Standard HPMC matrix kinetics (EP0976395A1; US 2020/0108008). A 150 mg HPMC K4M/K200M matrix tablet with 2.5–10 mg minoxidil yields a conventional ~12–18 h dissolution profile — the patent's own Figures 2–7 show exactly this, and there is no evidence these profiles are unexpected
Dissolution: 25%/<2–4 h; 50%/<2–12 h; 75%/<4–18 h; 100%/<12–48 h First-order/erosion profiles inherent to HPMC matrices of the K4M/K200M type; the ranges are broad and encompass routine tunable behavior taught in EP0976395A1/US 2020/0108008
Tmax ~30–360 min Overlaps IR minoxidil Tmax (40–60 min) and is the predictable result of matrix release
Cmax ~0.25–20 ng/mL Overlaps IR minoxidil Cmax at 2.5 mg (≈16.8 ng/mL); ER predictably lowers Cmax further, so the range is satisfied by either IR or ER dosing within the claimed dose span
Excipients (HPMC, lactose, MCC, silica, Mg stearate) All individually known; the non-HPMC set is literally Loniten's list (SmPC §6.1); HPMC matrix is EP0976395A1
Kit + information sheet (dosing, body-weight selection, AE warnings) Conventional labeling/instructions accompanying any drug; LDOM literature and Loniten labeling already contain dosing and AE warnings

Combination C — Loniten + US 2020/0108008 (or EP0976395A1) alone → modified-release minoxidil per se

Even without the LDOM literature, the combination of the known drug (minoxidil, 2.5/10 mg oral) with the incorporated-by-reference MR technology renders the composition claims obvious: the patent admits the MR systems come from US 2020/0108008, and applying a known MR platform to a known drug with a short half-life and peak-related toxicity is a paradigm obvious use. The LDOM literature adds the dose and indication, but the composition claims would be obvious even on the weaker combination.

Combination D — + US 2017/0020920 for the delayed-release/enteric embodiments

The enteric-coated embodiments are a straight application of the incorporated enteric-coating reference, which the patent itself describes as solving minoxidil's pH-dependent solubility — the patentee's own statement of the reason to combine.


5. Motivation to combine and reasonable expectation of success (KSR/Graham)

Motivation. KSR requires a "reason, suggestion, or motivation" — here there are at least four independent, overlapping ones:

  1. Known problem: Loniten's label documents tachycardia (~20+ bpm), hypotension, fluid retention/edema, and pericardial effusion at antihypertensive doses; the LDOM literature reframes these as peak-concentration-driven and dose-dependent.
  2. Known solution in the same field: ER matrices are the standard tool to reduce Cmax and extend time-above-threshold for short-half-life drugs with peak-related AEs — the identical rationale Veradermics itself uses to describe VDPHL01 ("avoid the high peak concentrations of immediate-release oral minoxidil, while extending time above the minimum hair growth threshold").
  3. Known benefit: the LDOM literature already established the dose and indication, and the Delphi/consensus work (pre-2022 literature base) expressly discussed minimizing cardiovascular AEs while maintaining efficacy — the patent claims nothing more than achieving that goal via a routine dosage-form change.
  4. The patent's own incorporation by reference of US 2020/0108008 and US 2017/0020920 concedes the MR/enteric platforms are prior art usable "as is."

Reasonable expectation of success. High. Minoxidil is freely water-soluble, ~90% absorbed, half-life ~4 h, and dose-proportional — ideal ER-matrix characteristics. The claimed dissolution windows (50–98% by 12 h; 100% by 12–48 h) are textbook HPMC-matrix outputs; the claimed PK windows are broad and overlap IR values, so almost any formulation "hits" them. There is no evidence in the specification of unexpected results — the Figures show conventional matrix dissolution curves (prototypes A–D), and the specification contains no comparative data showing surprising efficacy or a surprising safety margin versus IR low-dose minoxidil. The claimed "substantially no cardiac effects" is a qualitative restatement of the LDOM safety literature's findings, not a demonstrated unexpected advantage.


6. Secondary considerations (likely weak for patentee)

  • Unexpected results: Not demonstrated. No data in the specification comparing the claimed ER formulation against IR low-dose minoxidil on hair count or cardiac outcomes.
  • Long-felt need / failure of others: The LDOM literature shows the medical need (oral, non-topical minoxidil) was already being met off-label with IR tablets before the priority date; no evidence of failed attempts to make an ER minoxidil tablet.
  • Commercial success / industry skepticism: VDPHL01 is investigational (Phase 2/3–3 at the time of the April 2026 press releases cited), not approved; success cannot be presumed from an unapproved, clinical-stage asset.
  • Licensing/copying: Not established.
  • Independent contemporaneous development: The post-priority CN122297416A and Shanghai Auson WO 2025/201296 filings (minoxidil 1.25–5 mg + hypromellose SR, 8–12 h in vitro release) show multiple actors independently arrived at the same formulation space — consistent with obviousness, not with a pioneering, non-obvious leap.

7. Strengths and weaknesses of the obviousness case

Strongest grounds for a challenger (expected in PGR2026-00072):

  • Claim 1 (broad MR composition): Near-certain obviousness under Combination B/C. The MR platform is admitted prior art (incorporated by reference); the drug, dose, and use are all prior art.
  • Claims 3–4 (Tmax/Cmax): Arguably anticipated by IR minoxidil PK (Tmax 40–60 min; Cmax ≈16.8 ng/mL at 2.5 mg, both inside the claimed ranges) — the "modified release" limitation being the only differentiator, and MR being obvious.
  • Claims 5–8 (methods): Essentially the LDOM standard of care (Combination A) plus routine ER formulation.
  • Claim 9 (kit): Conventional.

Weaknesses / patentee counterarguments a challenger should expect:

  • No single reference discloses an ER minoxidil tablet for hair loss at 0.25–5 mg; the challenger must rely on a combination, so the inquiry turns on motivation and reasonable expectation — which here are strong, but fact-dependent.
  • If the PGR petitioner relies on references published after 2022-10-25 (e.g., the 2023 Gupta review, 2024 Delphi consensus), those are not § 102/103 prior art; they can only corroborate the state of the art as of 2022 via the primary pre-2022 studies they cite.
  • The patentee may argue unexpected clinical benefit (blunted Cmax → fewer cardiac events) — but that is the predictable purpose of ER, and the specification contains no supporting comparative data; under KSR, a "predictable variation" of a known drug/dose/form to solve a known problem is not enough.
  • The patentee may argue claim 2's "50–98% in 12 h" is a specific, non-obvious release window; but HPMC matrices are routinely tuned across exactly this window, and the claim covers a very broad band.

8. Conclusion

US 12,491,184 B2 is vulnerable under § 103 on its independent composition, method, and kit claims. The strongest formulation: Loniten (IR minoxidil, 2.5/10 mg, with its documented hypertrichosis and peak-related cardiac AEs) + the pre-2022 LDOM literature (Sinclair 2021; Vaño-Galván 2021; Villani 2021: 0.25–5 mg/day for pattern hair loss) + conventional HPMC matrix ER technology (EP0976395A1, naming Methocel K100M; US 2020/0108008, incorporated by reference in the patent itself; optionally US 2017/0020920 for enteric/delayed embodiments). A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine these with a strong reasonable expectation of success because the claimed formulation is the textbook application of matrix ER technology to a short-half-life, highly soluble, known drug whose dose-limiting toxicities are peak-plasma-concentration-driven — and the claimed PK and dissolution ranges are broad enough to overlap even the IR reference values. Secondary considerations provide little counterweight: no unexpected-results data appear in the specification, the product is not yet approved, and contemporaneous third-party filings (CN122297416A; WO 2025/201296) indicate the formulation space was an obvious destination for multiple actors.

Caveats. (1) Claim numbering is inferred; a full claims set from USPTO Patent Center is needed before finalizing a claim-by-claim chart. (2) The pending PGR2026-00072 petition's actual grounds and references are not yet public — the references identified here are the natural candidates, but the petition may add more (e.g., Chinese/Korean minoxidil SR filings predating 2022-10-25 that my searches did not surface). (3) I could not verify the priority chain's validity; if the 2022-10-25 priority date fails, later-filed references (e.g., 2023 LDOM reviews) would become available as prior art, strengthening the case further.

Generated 9/2/2026, 12:47:03 AM

Extensions

Patent term adjustments, term extensions, continuations, divisionals, family members, and expiration dates.

Not generated yet. Click Generate to call the active LLM provider with the configured prompt.

Derivative works

Defensive disclosure: derivative variations of each claim designed to render future incremental improvements obvious or non-novel.

Not generated yet. Click Generate to call the active LLM provider with the configured prompt.

Keep exploring

Other patents in Medical (M)

See all Medical (M) patents →