Invalidity dossier
US 12288421
Optical skin detection for face unlock
Current assignee: trinamiX GmbH
Added 9/4/2026, 12:00:21 AM
Active provider: DeepSeek · deepseek-v4-flash
Auto-generating section 1 of 3: Obviousness…
Each section takes ~30-60s with web-search grounding. Keep this tab open — sections will fill in below as they complete.
Patent summary
Title, assignee, inventors, filing/issue dates, abstract, and a plain-language overview of the claims.
Search results
- USPTO / Google Patents / Justia hits: US 12288421 resolves unambiguously to US12288421B2 — "Optical skin detection for face unlock" (TrinamiX GmbH family). No conflicting numbers surfaced; I did not auto-correct any identifier.
- CAFC 2026 docket search: Searches for
"12288421" CAFC,"12288421" appeal, and TrinamiX litigation queries returned no CAFC (or other court) docket results for this patent. I found no evidence of any appeal, IPR, or litigation involving patent 12288421 as of the current date. - Sources: patents.google.com/patent/US12288421B2, patents.justia.com/patent/12288421, patentimages.storage.googleapis.com (family publication US20240037201A1 PDF), patentguru/patentleaderboard index pages.
Patent summary
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Patent number | US 12288421 B2 |
| Title | Optical skin detection for face unlock |
| Assignee | TrinamiX GmbH (current and original assignee; an assignment to TRINAMIX GMBH was recorded 2025-01-28) |
| Inventors | Peter Schillen, Benjamin Guthier, Friedrich Schick, Manuel Guenther, Lars Diesselberg, Christian Lennartz |
| Application / filing date | US 18/743,640, filed 2024-06-14 (a continuation in the family; the parent publication is US20240037201A1 / US 18/264,326) |
| Priority date | 2021-02-18 |
| Publication of application | US 2024/0331450 A1, published 2024-10-03 |
| Issue (grant) date | 2025-04-29 |
| Legal status | Active; anticipated expiration listed as 2042-02-17 (≈20 years from the 2021-02-18 priority date plus adjustment) |
| Exemplary classifications | G06V40/40 (spoof detection / liveness), G06V40/16 (face recognition), G01S17/894 (3D/ToF imaging), G06T7/50 (depth recovery), G06V10/60 |
Abstract (as indexed for this patent family; wording is approximate because the abstract block was not fully captured in my primary source — the specification and claim summary confirm the substance): A method for face authentication is proposed. The method includes at least one face detection step including determining at least one first image with a camera, determining at least one material property from a second image, where the second image is recorded while projecting at least one illumination pattern including a plurality of illumination features on the scene, and at least one authentication step including authenticating the detected face using the face detection and the material property. (If you need the verbatim abstract text, it should be confirmed against the USPTO Patent Center record.)
Independent claims — plain-language overview
Caveat: The full claims section was not retrievable in the materials I obtained (the Google Patents text I worked from contained the specification but was truncated before the claims; web snippets confirmed the "Summary of the Invention" but not the granted claim set verbatim). The overview below is therefore reconstructed from the specification's independent-claim summary, which closely mirrors the claims. Exact claim numbering and boundaries should be verified against the USPTO full-text claims.
Claim 1 — Method for face authentication (four required steps):
- (a) Face detection step: Capture at least one 2D image of a scene with a camera and, using a processing unit, detect a face in that image by identifying predefined/determined geometrical features characteristic of faces (e.g., eyes, nose, mouth).
- (b) Skin detection step: Project an illumination pattern made of multiple illumination features (e.g., NIR laser spots) onto the scene using an illumination unit; capture a second ("reflection") image with the same camera; for at least one reflection feature located in the image region corresponding to the detected face, analyze its beam profile to derive first beam-profile information and determine a material property (e.g., sub-surface scattering/translucency versus surface-only reflection). The face is characterized as skin only if the material property matches a property characteristic of skin — this defeats photos/screens and masks made of non-skin materials.
- (c) 3D detection step: Analyze the beam profiles of at least four reflection features inside the face region to derive second beam-profile information (e.g., depth-from-photon-ratio) and determine a depth level; the face is characterized as a 3D object if the depth level deviates from a predefined depth level of plane objects — this defeats flat 2D photograph/video presentation attacks.
- (d) Authentication step: Authenticate the detected face (via an authentication unit) only if the face was characterized as skin (b) and a 3D object (c) — i.e., a two-factor anti-spoof check (material + 3D geometry) before biometric verification/device unlock.
Likely additional independent claims (aspects recited in the specification; exact text unverified):
- Mobile device configured to carry out the method (e.g., smartphone with camera, illumination unit projecting the pattern, and processing unit/authentication unit securing device access).
- Computer program / computer-readable medium with instructions causing a computer to perform the method.
- Possibly a use claim (e.g., use of the method for face authentication / presentation-attack detection), based on the specification's statement that the invention "relates to a method for face authentication, a mobile device and various uses of the method."
Uncertainties to flag: (1) verbatim abstract and full independent claim set were not confirmed against USPTO text; (2) no CAFC or district-court docket activity was found for this patent, but that is a negative result from general web searches, not an exhaustive court-docket query; (3) the related continuation US12530925B2 (same title, filed 2025-03-24 as US 19/088,110) appears in the same family but is a different patent number and was not analyzed here.
Generated 9/4/2026, 12:01:51 AM
Cases on file (1)
Group view →Specific litigation cases in our database that name US patent 12288421. The free-form analysis below may also discuss cases beyond this list.
- trinamiX GmbH v. Apple Inc.filed Sep 3, 2026U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas, Midland Divisionnewly filed
Defendants: Apple Inc.
Litigation summary
Past and pending lawsuits — plaintiffs, defendants, jurisdictions, outcomes, and notable rulings.
I'll search multiple sources for litigation involving US Patent 12288421.
The initial searches surfaced news of a trinamiX (BASF subsidiary) v. Apple suit filed in the Western District of Texas (Midland) around September 3, 2026, alleging infringement of 7 face-authentication patents. The articles don't name the specific patent numbers, so I need to verify whether US 12288421 is among the asserted patents. Let me dig into the docket and case details.
I've reached the search-step limit, so I'll answer based on the information retrieved, flagging clearly what is and is not confirmed.
Litigation involving US Patent 12288421 — Findings
Date discrepancy note (important)
Your task states "Current Date: April 26, 2026," but the live search environment and the retrieved documents are dated September 3–4, 2026 (the news reports I found are from those dates). Per the operating rules, I treat the live search results as ground truth and flag the discrepancy. If your analysis date is truly April 26, 2026, then the case described below would be after that date — but it is the only litigation the live searches surfaced, so I report it.
Known litigation (only matter found)
TrinamiX GmbH v. Apple Inc. — assertion details unconfirmed as to patent 12288421 specifically
- Plaintiff(s): trinamiX GmbH (wholly owned subsidiary of BASF). News reports describe BASF as the plaintiff and identify trinamiX GmbH as the entity bringing the suit.
- Defendant(s): Apple Inc.
- Jurisdiction: U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas, Midland Division (reported as "U.S. District Court in Midland, Texas" / "德州米德兰").
- Case number: Not retrieved. No docket number appears in any source I obtained.
- Filing date: Reported as September 3, 2026 (local time; some outlets dated it Sept 4 in Asia time zones).
- Asserted patents: Seven (7) trinamiX face-authentication patents. The specific patent numbers are not named in any source I retrieved, so I cannot confirm that US 12288421 is among the seven asserted patents. This is the critical open question.
- Subject matter overlap: The suit is about Apple's Face ID (iPhone 15/16/17 series, iPad Pro) allegedly incorporating trinamiX's patented "material and skin detection" liveness technology (anti-spoofing against photographs, 3D-printed masks, silicone replicas; NIR backscattering/Beam Profile Analysis). That is squarely the technology of US 12288421 ("Optical skin detection for face unlock," assigned to TrinamiX GmbH) — but topical similarity is not proof the patent is asserted.
- Relief sought: Unspecified damages and injunctive relief halting further infringement.
- Current status (as of reporting, Sept 3–4, 2026): Newly filed; Apple had not yet responded or commented per Reuters and follow-on outlets. No answer, no motions, no scheduling orders, and no CAFC appeal reported.
Negative results for other litigation
- No CAFC appeal, IPR/PGR, ITC proceeding, or other district-court case specifically tied to patent number 12288421 was found in any search.
- An earlier search in this analysis (see prior sections) likewise found no court activity for 12288421 — but that predates the September 2026 trinamiX v. Apple filing, so it is now superseded.
Bottom line
- The only known litigation plausibly involving US 12288421 is trinamiX GmbH (BASF) v. Apple Inc., W.D. Tex. (Midland), filed ~Sept 3, 2026.
- I cannot state with confidence that 12288421 is one of the seven asserted patents — no retrieved source lists the patent numbers. To confirm, you would need the actual complaint (PACER/CM/ECF for W.D. Tex., or the court's Public Access to Court Electronic Records), or a docket aggregator (Docket Navigator, Unified Patents portal, RPX) once the case is indexed.
- Suggested verification queries once you have docket access: search W.D. Tex. filings around Sept 3–4, 2026 by party "TrinamiX" and "Apple"; or run the patent number 12288421 against RPX/Docket Navigator litigation databases.
Generated 9/4/2026, 12:48:30 AM
Proceedings on file (0)
All PTAB activity →AIA trial proceedings (IPR / PGR / CBM) filed at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board against this patent. Sourced from the USPTO Open Data Portal and refreshed every six hours; each proceeding number deep-links to the PTAB E2E docket.
Current assignee: trinamiX GmbH
No PTAB proceedings on file. This patent has not been challenged via IPR, PGR, or CBM. The absence is itself a signal — well-asserted patents eventually attract IPRs. The LLM analysis below may surface filings the ODP feed hasn’t indexed yet.
PTAB challenges
AIA trial proceedings at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board — IPR, PGR, and CBM. Petitioners, judge panels, claim-level invalidation outcomes from Final Written Decisions, and Federal Circuit appeals. The single most important defensive datapoint after litigation history.
Proceedings overview
There are zero AIA trial proceedings (IPR / PGR / CBM) on file for US 12288421 — no active trials, no petitions, no institutions, no settlements, no appeals. The USPTO Open Data Portal record contains no proceeding, and independent web searches (2026-09-04) surfaced no petition against this patent or any related TrinamiX patent. The defensive posture this gives a defendant is a clean slate: no claim of 12288421 has ever been tested, narrowed, or canceled at the PTAB, and no estoppel under § 315(e)(2) binds any would-be petitioner — but that also means the patent is completely untested and, as of yesterday, its owner is actively asserting the family in district court (see Strategic summary below).
No proceeding-specific sections follow because there are no proceedings. I will not invent numbers, panels, or Final Written Decisions.
Strategic summary
Which claims are CANCELED vs. SUSTAINED vs. UNTESTED. All claims of US 12288421 are UNTESTED. No IPR/PGR/CBM petition has been filed against the patent, so no claim has been canceled and no claim has been affirmatively sustained by a PTAB panel. The patent issued 2025-04-29 (priority date 2021-02-18) — it is roughly sixteen months old as of today (2026-09-04), which is within the ordinary one-year post-service window for IPR filings. The absence of PTAB activity is therefore not yet a meaningful signal that the claims are strong; it is equally consistent with the patent simply being young and only now entering active litigation.
Estoppel landscape. Because there are no completed or pending AIA trials, there is no § 315(e)(2) estoppel anywhere. For a defendant facing assertion of 12288421 today, every prior-art ground remains available — there is no petitioner or privy that has already burned § 102/§ 103 grounds in a PTAB proceeding. One practical wrinkle: a defendant that is sued in district court and then files an IPR must still contend with § 315(b)'s one-year bar measured from service of the complaint (the suit was reportedly filed 2026-09-03, so the bar would run to 2027-09-03 for the served defendant), plus the current discretionary-denial climate at the PTAB (Fintiv considerations, and the post-March-2025 Stewart Memo process under which roughly 60% of petitions considered through October 2025 were discretionarily denied).
Pattern signals. There are no pattern signals from PTAB filings — no serial petitioner, no Unified Patents or other defensive aggregator in the chain, no patent-owner PTAB appeals. The important pattern signal is in district court, not the PTAB: on 2026-09-03, trinamiX GmbH (the BASF subsidiary and assignee of 12288421) sued Apple in the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas, Midland Division, alleging that Face ID in iPhone 15/16/17-series and iPad Pro products infringes seven trinamiX face-authentication patents directed to material/skin detection (per Reuters and contemporaneous reports). Whether US 12288421 is one of the seven asserted patents was not confirmed by the sources I retrieved — the articles name trinamiX and the technology but do not list the patent numbers. If 12288421 is among them, this is the first assertion event for the patent and likely the trigger for any future IPR; if it is not, the patent may still be asserted later or never. Do not represent that 12288421 is or is not in suit until the complaint's exhibit list is checked.
Recommended next steps
- There is no FWD to cite and no canceled claim to leverage. If you are a defendant receiving a demand letter citing 12288421, you cannot point to any PTAB disposition — say so plainly to anyone expecting one.
- Confirm whether 12288421 is asserted in the new W.D. Tex. case. Pull the docket for the 2026-09-03 trinamiX v. Apple complaint (W.D. Tex., Midland Division — search PACER/CM/ECF and CourtListener for trinamiX GmbH v. Apple Inc.). The complaint reportedly asserts seven patents on Face ID material/skin detection; 12288421's title and classification (G06V40/40 spoof detection, G06V40/16 face recognition) make it a plausible member of that set, but this must be verified against the complaint's exhibit list, not assumed.
- If you are (or become) the defendant in that suit and 12288421 is asserted: the § 315(b) IPR clock starts at service — mark 2027-09-03 as the hard deadline for any petition. Given the PTAB's current discretionary-denial posture, seriously evaluate a Sotera-type stipulation (stipulating not to pursue in district court the same or reasonably-raisable grounds) to neutralize Fintiv, and consider whether the strongest art is § 102 (single-reference) versus § 103 combinations, since compelling-merits showings weigh against discretionary denial.
- Watch the family, not just this patent. TrinamiX holds a dense family here — the related continuation US12530925B2 (same title, filed 2025-03-24, granted 2026-01-20) and parent publication US20240037201A1 (US 18/264,326). If Apple or another defendant challenges the family, petitions may be filed against multiple members in parallel; grounds and expert positions will be cross-admissible, so any invalidity study should be built family-wide.
- Monitor from 2026-09-03 forward. The Apple suit is one day old as of this analysis. Within the next several months expect either (a) an answer and early motions in Midland, and/or (b) IPR petitions if the asserted set includes these patents. Re-run the ODP PTAB query and a CourtListener search at 30-day intervals — the first petition against 12288421, if it comes, will most likely be filed by Apple or an RPX/Unified-type entity within the next 6–12 months.
Caveats on sourcing
- The "no PTAB activity" conclusion rests on (1) the USPTO ODP ingest reported in the structured block, and (2) general web searches run 2026-09-04. I did not run a live PTAB E2E/API query in this session, so treat the negative result as high-confidence but not an exhaustive docket audit.
- The Apple suit details come from Reuters and syndicated coverage dated 2026-09-03/04 (g1.globo.com, investing.com, marketscreener.com, sina/eastmoney aggregations). None of those sources list the seven asserted patent numbers, so 12288421's presence in that case is unconfirmed.
- No proceeding numbers, judge panels, institution decisions, or FWDs are reported above because none exist on the available record — per the operating rules, I have not fabricated any.
Generated 9/4/2026, 12:48:35 AM
Ownership chain (1)
Asserters network →Structured records extracted from the assignment-history narrative below. Each entity links to its full ownership-network profile.
? · recorded 2025-01-28 · Assignment
Friedrich Schick; Benjamin Guthier; Peter Schillen; Manuel Guenther; Lars Diesselberg; Christian LennartzTrinamiX GmbH
Assignment history
Inventors, original assignee, and the chain of ownership recorded with the USPTO — including the correspondent attorney who recorded each assignment, since shell-LLC chains often share one repeat-player attorney even when the entity names look unrelated. Surfaces NPE / patent-troll patterns: shell-entity transfers, known asserters in the chain, repeat correspondent fingerprints, pre-litigation assignments, and bankruptcy fire-sales.
Inventors
All six named inventors — Peter Schillen, Benjamin Guthier, Friedrich Schick, Manuel Guenther, Lars Diesselberg, Christian Lennartz — are listed as trinamiX GmbH inventors across the trinamiX face-authentication patent family (the same six appear on the sibling patent US12530925B2, "Optical skin detection for face unlock," granted 2026-01-20, per patentguru assignee records). trinamiX GmbH is headquartered in Ludwigshafen am Rhein, Germany; the inventors' assignments identify trinamiX GmbH as the recipient of their rights.
- Unusual departure pattern: none observed. All six continue to appear on trinamiX filings dated well after this application (e.g., 2023–2024 filings, per patentguru), which is inconsistent with a mass inventor exodus preceding a portfolio sale.
Original assignee
The entity named on the issued patent and on the recorded assignment is TrinamiX GmbH (also spelled trinamiX GmbH), Ludwigshafen, Germany — a wholly owned subsidiary of BASF SE (BASF's own releases state trinamiX "was founded in 2015 as a wholly owned subsidiary of BASF SE"; trinamiX's November 2022 backgrounder likewise says founded 2015 as a 100% BASF SE subsidiary, while the 2026 complaint narrative says BASF "created trinamiX in 2014" — a minor date discrepancy in the sources, same entity).
- Primary line of business: biometric sensing — "trinamiX Face Authentication" (2D face recognition plus liveness detection via beam-profile-analysis-based skin detection) — and mobile NIR spectroscopy. More than 200–240 employees at sites in Germany, China, Japan, Korea and the US; 650+ granted/pending patents.
- Products embodying the claims: yes. trinamiX Face Authentication is a commercialized, certified product line (FIDO Biometric Component Certification, IIFAA, Android Class 3 "strong"), publicly demonstrated integrated behind OLED/foldable displays jointly with TCL CSOT (IFA Berlin 2024, Display Week San Jose), and press coverage states the technology "has been applied in Android smartphones." The patent's claims (optical skin detection using projected NIR illumination patterns and beam-profile analysis) map directly onto this commercialized technology.
- Current status: operating and actively asserting. On 2026-09-03 (one day before the date of this analysis), trinamiX/BASF filed a patent-infringement suit against Apple in the US District Court for the Western District of Texas, Midland Division, alleging Apple's Face ID (iPhone 15/16/17, iPad Pro) infringes seven trinamiX face-authentication patents involving material and skin detection (Reuters, Sept. 3, 2026). The press reports do not enumerate the seven asserted patents, so I cannot confirm US 12288421 is among them.
Assignment timeline
I could not retrieve reel/frame numbers or correspondent-of-record data for this patent: searches of the USPTO Assignment Center indices returned no citable reel/frame entries in the materials available to me (the Assignment Center is not directly machine-queryable here). The chronological record below is therefore reconstructed from the USPTO/Google Patents legal-events feed for US 12288421, which lists one recorded conveyance. Treat reel/frame and correspondent as unverified unless confirmed on the Assignment Center.
- (execution date not shown in available records) / recorded 2025-01-28 — reel/frame not retrievable in my sources
- Conveyance: Assignment of Assignors' Interest (recorded as "ASSIGNMENT OF ASSIGNORS INTEREST (SEE DOCUMENT FOR DETAILS)")
- Assignor: Friedrich Schick; Benjamin Guthier; Peter Schillen; Manuel Guenther; Lars Diesselberg; Christian Lennartz (the six named inventors)
- Assignee: TRINAMIX GMBH
- Correspondent: not retrievable from my sources. (Context only, not a finding: the prosecution agent of record for sibling family member US12530925B2 is Armstrong Teasdale LLP per patentguru; whether that firm also served as assignment correspondent here is unverified.)
- Context: standard inventor-to-employer assignment recorded ~3 months before grant (grant 2025-04-29) — normal chain-of-title cleanup, not a portfolio transfer.
No post-issuance assignments exist in the record I could verify. No transfer to any LLC, holding company, licensing vehicle, or defensive aggregator appears for this patent. The original assignee (TrinamiX GmbH) is still the owner.
Timeline diagram
timeline
title Ownership of US 12288421
2021 : Priority date claimed
2024 : US continuation filed
2025 : Inventors assign to TrinamiX GmbH
: Patent issued Apr 29
2026 : TrinamiX and BASF sue Apple over face authentication
NPE / troll-pattern signals
- Shell-entity transfer — not present. The only recorded conveyance is inventors → TrinamiX GmbH (recorded 2025-01-28). There is no transfer to an "IP / Holdings / Licensing / Ventures" LLC, no registered-agent address, no single-purpose Delaware/Texas LLC anywhere in the chain.
- Known asserter in the chain — not present. No current or prior assignee matches the public NPE lists cited (Acacia, Marathon, Intellectual Ventures, IPNav, Wi-LAN, Conversant/Mosaid, Vringo, Pendrell, Innovatio, MPHJ, Lumen View, Round Rock, Document Generation Corp., Spangenberg entities, or RPX/Unified high-frequency plaintiffs). The assignee, TrinamiX GmbH, is a BASF SE operating subsidiary, not an entity on those lists.
- Repeat correspondent across the chain — not present / unclear. Only one recorded conveyance exists, so no recurrence of a correspondent can be established from this patent's own record (recurrence, not a single appearance, is the signal). I could not retrieve the correspondent name from available sources, so this factor is unclear only in the sense that the underlying data was not accessible; nothing suggests a repeat-player NPE filer.
- Cascading transfers — not present. A single inventor-assignment link, not chained LLC transfers.
- Pre-litigation transfer — not present. The Apple suit was filed 2026-09-03; the only recorded assignment (2025-01-28) predates it by ~19 months, well outside the 6-month window, and is a routine inventor-to-employer assignment rather than a transfer to an assertion vehicle to set venue or establish standing.
- Bankruptcy fire-sale — not present. TrinamiX's parent, BASF SE, is the world's largest chemical producer by revenue and is solvent and operating.
- Privateering — not present. No operating company transferred patents to an NPE to sue competitors. The inverse is true: the operating subsidiary (TrinamiX GmbH, a BASF company) is asserting in its own name against Apple (Reuters, 2026-09-03).
- Defensive aggregator (anti-NPE) — not present. The chain does not end at RPX, AST, LOT, Unified Patents, or OIN; it terminates at TrinamiX GmbH, which is actively asserting rather than neutralizing.
Verdict
Operating-company assertion.
The ownership record is clean and uncomplicated: a single inventor-to-employer assignment recorded 2025-01-28, with TrinamiX GmbH — the original and current assignee — remaining the owner through grant and today. TrinamiX GmbH is an operating technology subsidiary of BASF SE that develops and commercializes the very face-authentication/skin-detection technology this patent protects (FIDO/IIFAA/Android-certified products demonstrated with TCL CSOT), and it filed suit against Apple on 2026-09-03 in the W.D. Tex. (Midland) over face-authentication patents. No shell LLCs, no cascading transfers, no known-NPE assignees, and no bankruptcy or privateering indicators exist in the record. Two caveats: (1) I could not independently confirm that US 12288421 is one of the seven patents asserted against Apple, since press reports did not enumerate them; and (2) Apple is best characterized as an unlicensed implementer rather than a direct competitor of the B2B component supplier trinamiX — but the asserting entity is nonetheless an operating company practicing the technology, not a patent-acquisition vehicle.
Verification: USPTO Assignment Center search by patent number at https://assignmentcenter.uspto.gov/ (index: https://assignment.uspto.gov/patent/index.html); legal-events record at https://patents.google.com/patent/US12288421/en; Reuters litigation coverage of 2026-09-03 (e.g., unionleader.com / marketscreener.com summaries).
Generated 9/4/2026, 12:49:07 AM
Prior art
Earlier patents, publications, and products that may anticipate or render the claims unpatentable.
Scope note on what I could and could not retrieve
I ran targeted web searches of USPTO/Google Patents/Justia records for patent 12288421. The identifier resolves unambiguously to US12288421B2 — "Optical skin detection for face unlock" (TrinamiX GmbH; inventors Schillen, Guthier, Schick, Guenther, Diesselberg, Lennartz; granted 2025-04-29; priority 2021-02-18). I did not auto-correct any identifier and found no similar-number confusion.
Important retrieval limitation (stated explicitly): The structured "References Cited" (backward-citation) block that appears on the Google Patents/USPTO front-page record for US12288421B2 was not retrievable through the searches available to me — the query results returned the specification text and family records but not the examiner's citation list. I am therefore not able to certify the complete examiner "Patent Citations" list. What I can provide with high confidence is the set of references affirmatively cited inside the specification itself (which are the applicant-identified references the examiner considered, and which normally appear on the face of the granted patent), plus family members that must be excluded as prior art. I flag each item's evidentiary basis below rather than inventing a citation list.
Family members — NOT prior art (do not count under §102)
- US 2024/0331450 A1 (application publication of this very patent) and US 2024/0037201 A1 (parent application US 18/264,326) — same disclosure, earlier publications of this family.
- WO 2022/175386 A1 (PCT/EP2022/053941, filed 2022-02-17, published 2022-08-25) — the PCT counterpart.
- EP 4295252 A1 / B1 / C0, ES 3065568 T3, PL 4546296 T3 — European/regional national-phase counterparts.
- US 12530925 B2 (US 19/088,110, filed 2025-03-24, granted 2026-01-20) — a later-filed continuation in the same family (filed after US12288421B2's priority date), so it cannot be §102 prior art.
- EP 4700712 A2, EP 4479951 B1, EP 4740123 A1, WO 2023/156317 A1 — later trinamiX applications in the broader "face authentication / material data" program; all post-date the 2021-02-18 priority and are not §102 art against this patent.
Applicant-cited prior art identified from the specification
The specification cites the following patent documents (verified in the spec text of the family, e.g., the full text mirrored at freepatentsonline.com/y2024/0037201 and patents.justia.com/patent/12288421):
1. US 2019/0213309 A1
(Printed in the patent literally as "US 2019/213309 A1" — I keep the identifier as printed rather than "correcting" it.)
- Type: US pre-grant publication; described in the patent's background section as "a system and method of authenticating a user's face with a ranging sensor."
- Disclosure: A ranging sensor comprising a time-of-flight sensor and a reflectance sensor transmits a signal reflected off a user; the received signal yields (i) a distance between user and sensor and (ii) a reflectance value of the user; a processor activates a facial-recognition process in response to the distance and/or reflectivity.
- Basis for inclusion: Directly quoted and discussed in the specification background (¶[0009] of the family publication).
- §102 analysis vs. the reconstructed method claim 1: Discloses step (a)-type 2D face recognition and a rudimentary "reflectance" gating that overlaps with the idea of using a light-material interaction for liveness. It does not disclose: patterned illumination with a plurality of illumination features; beam-profile analysis of reflection features; classifying skin from a material property (sub-surface scattering/translucency); a 3D-vs-plane depth determination from at least four reflection features; or the conjunctive skin-and-3D authentication gate of step (d). It would not anticipate claim 1 as a whole; at most it anticipates the generic face-detection portion. It is the closest single prior-art document discussed in the patent.
2. WO 2018/091649 A1 (depth-from-photon-ratio "DPR" family)
- Type: PCT publication, trinamiX GmbH (BASF group).
- Disclosure: Cited in the specification for the "depth-from-photon-ratio (DPR) technique" — determining a longitudinal coordinate (distance) of an object by analyzing the beam profile of a reflection feature, e.g., forming a quotient Q of a center region and an edge region of a light spot on a sensor and mapping Q to distance via a predetermined relationship.
- §102 analysis: This reference family teaches the beam-profile depth-measurement mechanism that reads on elements of step (c) (determining depth from beam-profile information of reflection features). It does not disclose face detection, skin/material classification from beam profiles, or the authentication combination of claim 1.
- Common-ownership caveat: Under AIA 35 U.S.C. §102(b)(2)(C), subject matter owned by (or under an obligation of assignment to) the same person as this application at the effective filing date may be excluded from §102 prior art — likely applicable here given trinamiX ownership, so these references may be citable only for what they teach, not as statutory §102 anticipations.
3. WO 2018/091638 A1 and 4. WO 2018/091640 A1
- Type: PCT publications in the same trinamiX DPR "detector" family (cited together with WO 2018/091649 A1 in the specification's DPR discussion).
- Disclosure: Companion implementations of the beam-profile/depth-from-photon-ratio technique (optical detectors determining object position from light-spot beam-profile quotients).
- §102 analysis: Same as item 2 — they anticipate the underlying depth-measurement sub-technique used in step (c) but not the claimed face-authentication method; likely excluded under §102(b)(2)(C) by common ownership.
5. WO 2020/187719 A1
- Type: PCT publication, trinamiX/BASF group; referenced in the specification for material classification by beam-profile analysis.
- Disclosure: Classifying the material of a surface (including distinguishing biological tissue/human skin from other materials) by analyzing the beam profile/back-scattering of a projected light feature — the "skin detection" technology that step (b) builds on.
- §102 analysis: Reads on the step (b) sub-technique (determining a material property from beam-profile information to identify skin). It does not disclose the face-detection → skin-gated → 3D-gated → authentication pipeline of claim 1. Same common-ownership §102(b)(2)(C) caveat as items 2–4.
6–8. European applications incorporated by reference (EPO numbers as printed in the spec)
- EP application No. 20 159 984.2 (filed 2020-02-28); EP application No. 20 154 961.5 (filed 2020-01-31); EP application No. 20 170 905.2 (filed 2020-04-22, describing a periodic/hexagonal grid of laser spots for reflection imaging).
- Disclosure: Incorporated by reference for material/beam-profile classification and for the patterned-spot illumination used in the reflection image.
- §102 analysis: All are trinamiX's own earlier-filed applications; each discloses component technology (spot-grid illumination, beam-profile material classification) but not the claimed combination. As unpublished-or-published commonly-owned applications, they are subject to the §102(b)(2)(C) exclusion analysis and would not, individually, anticipate claim 1.
Non-patent literature cited in the spec (for completeness)
- Masi, Iacopo, et al., "Deep face recognition: A survey," 2018 31st SIBGRAPI Conference on Graphics, Patterns and Images (SIBGRAPI), IEEE, 2018 — incorporated for 2D face-detection/geometrical-feature techniques (step (a)).
- J. Eichler & T. Seiler, "Lasertechnik in der Medizin" (Springer, 1991), pp. 171–266 — incorporated for the skin reflection model (surface reflection + diffuse subsurface back-scattering) underlying step (b).
Bottom-line §102 assessment
Against the reconstructed independent method claim (the four-step face-detection → skin-detection → 3D-detection → authentication pipeline):
- No single reference retrieved anticipates all four steps. The closest is US 2019/0213309 A1 (distance + reflectance gating of facial recognition), which fails to disclose patterned-illumination beam-profile skin classification, the ≥4-reflection-feature 3D-vs-plane depth test, and the conjunctive authentication condition.
- The trinamiX WO 2018/091649/091638/091640 and WO 2020/187719 references each anticipate only an individual sub-technique (DPR depth; beam-profile material/skin classification) and lack the face-authentication integration; they are also likely disqualified as §102 prior art by common ownership under §102(b)(2)(C).
- If the full examiner "References Cited" list becomes available from the USPTO Patent Center record for US12288421B2, this analysis should be re-run against the verbatim granted claims (which were truncated in my source material) — the claim-by-claim mapping above is keyed to the specification's independent-claim summary and the family publication's claim language, not to the certified USPTO claim text.
Key URLs: patents.google.com/patent/US12288421B2/en • patents.justia.com/patent/12288421 • freepatentsonline.com/y2024/0037201.html (full family specification) • patentimages.storage.googleapis.com/a5/9c/d6/934ad01ea375a2/US20240037201A1.pdf
Generated 9/4/2026, 12:49:09 AM
Obviousness
Combinations of prior art that suggest the claimed invention would have been obvious under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Extensions
Patent term adjustments, term extensions, continuations, divisionals, family members, and expiration dates.
Derivative works
Defensive disclosure: derivative variations of each claim designed to render future incremental improvements obvious or non-novel.
Keep exploring
Other patents in Software Technology & Computing Systems (T)
- US 12361760Summary — U.S. Patent No. 12,361,760 (US12361760B2) I searched the USPTO databases and CAFC 2026 docket sources. I could not find any CAFC 2026 docket or appeal citing patent 12,361,760 — searches surfaced only the patent record itself and…
- US 12456334I'll search for information on this specific patent and any CAFC docket activity. The CAFC docket search returned no results. Let me verify with a few more targeted searches on the USPTO record and any related litigation or appeals…
- US 12530925Search Results Summary I ran searches for the exact number US 12530925 / US12530925B2 (USPTO/Google Patents records, patent databases, and CAFC 2026 docket queries). No results were found in any CAFC or federal-appeal docket for this…
- US 7313580The first search confirmed the patent record. The CAFC docket search returned nothing. Let me run additional targeted searches to check for USPTO assignment records, litigation, and any CAFC 2026 appeal involving this exact patent. The…
- US 11516278Summary — U.S. Patent No. 11,516,278 B2 Bibliographic data | Field | Value | |---|---| | Title | Transmission management system, transmission system, and recording medium | | Patent / Publication No. | US 11,516,278 B2 (application…
- US 10368188US Patent 10,368,188 B2 — Summary Bibliographic data | Field | Value | |---|---| | Patent number | US 10,368,188 B2 (US10368188B2) | | Title | Systems and methods for identifying location-based services | | Application | US 15/834,747…
- US 10121133US Patent 10,121,133 B2 — Summary Bibliographic data (verified against Google Patents, FreePatentsOnline, USPTO/PTACTS documents, and RPX Insight) | Field | Value | |---|---| | Patent number | US 10,121,133 B2 (application serial no…
- US 9141960I'll search for US patent 9141960 in the USPTO database and check for any CAFC 2026 docket activity. The first search returned the patent and related litigation documents. The CAFC 2026 docket search returned no results. Let me check for…
This patent in court (1)
1 tracked lawsuit name US 12288421.